Chickpea and Quinoa Salad with Lemon and Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The basic concept is good, but the recipe as written is not my fave. I really enjoy mixing garbanzo and quinoa, but I'll usually add fresh veggies such as beets, carrots, or green beans. Also I prepare the dressing with tahini, sesame oil, olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, and sometimes curry spices (because I like that sort of thing). I then add avocado on top. So basically nothing like this recipe, but it catalyzed my ideas for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used canned beans and just cooked the quinoa. By doing this, it is really quick to fix. It's best after sitting and absorbing the flavors for a couple of days. I make it on the weekend and take it to work as lunch. It keeps me full until I head home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Though all the ingredients are delicious on their own....the final result was disappointing. Not a lot of great flavours come through. Even the tahini seems underwhelming. Not a repeat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
good but dressing needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Tasty and filling; perfect for a healthy lunch. I would cut back on the tahini just a touch (I love the stuff but I felt the flavor was too prominent and I would like some more lemon to come through next time) and I will add some tomatoes and cucumber from my garden for a burst of color. Definitely will make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Loved this! Even my partner who is always skeptical when I try new things on him, enjoyed it. I added cucumbers and tomatoes as suggested and used canned chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved the salad. I did add cucumbers, red peppers & celery and did not add as much lemon juice as the recipe called for. Also did not have shallots on hand so just used part of a regular yellow onion. The dressing is so tasty! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good! I love tahini/lemon flavor. I did cook the quinoa in chicken stock, which added some sodium and meant no need to add salt. Orginally made it just for my wife and I, but the two kiddos loved it as well. I thought I was going to have leftovers, but while"doing the dishes" I cleaned out the pot pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
excellent! added a bit more garlic, and toasted the garlic in the oil before adding to the mixture, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Excellent!! I LOVE lemon, tahini, quinoa, parsley and chickpeas, so this was fantastic to me! My husband and I both really enjoyed this, though I did add a bit of water to the dressing to thin it out a bit more. I also used canned chickpeas as I had them open already, maybe about a cup's worth! Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States