Chickpea and Eggplant Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
right off the bat, I thought it was suspect no flavored bouillon/broth was required, as this is a must for most soups. I did omit the salami to make this vegetarian. at first bite thought it was bland but then after a couple bites i liked the flavor, the chickpeas really add something to this. tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sensitive Ponytail Man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great! I used this recipe with what I had in the kitchen already, so it was modified a bunch, for example, I had ham on hand, so I used that instead if going out and getting salami, and used butter beans instead of chickpeas. Next time, I'll follow to a tee; this time, I just followed the general idea. Very tasty, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love this recipe, but with a few modifications. I add zucchini and curry powder. I use chicken broth instead of water and only use 4 cups. I serve over couscous. I normally make a big batch and enjoy the leftovers for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Disappointing. Having read the other reviews, I took some extra steps to add flavor - added basil too, used broth instead of water, used fire-roasted tomatoes, cooked in slow cooker... (omitted salami though, as we are veg.) Wasn't horrible, but still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I (meaning my entire family) am NOT an advocate of either Chickpeas or Eggplant (except when prepared "Parmesan" and then we only kind of like it). Which is PRECISELY why, when I came across this recipe, I simply KNEW I had to try it. I omitted the salami (too expensive in our area) but substituted 1/2 lb. SWEET Italian Sausage in its stead. I RARELY use Tomato Paste, so I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead. I liked it well enough (even thought it was "GOOD") but when -- just last night -- my Husband asked me "when are you going to make that 'Eggplant thing' again?", I just KNEW I had to come in here to rate this a 5! Who could have known?! Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used the basic ingredients, added more, subtracted a few and came up with a very tasty meal. I added roasted red pepper and zucchini, old wine, white wine vinegar, a touch of chilli powder and cut out some off the water and replaced with chicken stock. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Great use of leftover eggplant! Not spectacular but a nice tasting stew that got better after a few days. I used a cup of tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes and added chicken boullion, omitting any additional salt. Also omitted salami just because I didn't have it! Probably would have been delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Pretty good, but wish the broth had more flavor. As it was I used 1 can chicken broth for some of the water, but should've used more. Adding a few red pepper flakes when serving gave it a little extra kick. Family loved it though, so I may have been picky that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this stew---much like a chili but much quicker to make. Very nice flavor and texture and just the right amount of spices. Would recommend with a nice piece of crispy French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I modified this recipe to omit the meat and the tomato paste. It was good, but not something I'm likely to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States