Chickpea and Eggplant Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
right off the bat, I thought it was suspect no flavored bouillon/broth was required, as this is a must for most soups. I did omit the salami to make this vegetarian. at first bite thought it was bland but then after a couple bites i liked the flavor, the chickpeas really add something to this. tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sensitive Ponytail Man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great! I used this recipe with what I had in the kitchen already, so it was modified a bunch, for example, I had ham on hand, so I used that instead if going out and getting salami, and used butter beans instead of chickpeas. Next time, I'll follow to a tee; this time, I just followed the general idea. Very tasty, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love this recipe, but with a few modifications. I add zucchini and curry powder. I use chicken broth instead of water and only use 4 cups. I serve over couscous. I normally make a big batch and enjoy the leftovers for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Disappointing. Having read the other reviews, I took some extra steps to add flavor - added basil too, used broth instead of water, used fire-roasted tomatoes, cooked in slow cooker... (omitted salami though, as we are veg.) Wasn't horrible, but still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I (meaning my entire family) am NOT an advocate of either Chickpeas or Eggplant (except when prepared "Parmesan" and then we only kind of like it). Which is PRECISELY why, when I came across this recipe, I simply KNEW I had to try it. I omitted the salami (too expensive in our area) but substituted 1/2 lb. SWEET Italian Sausage in its stead. I RARELY use Tomato Paste, so I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead. I liked it well enough (even thought it was "GOOD") but when -- just last night -- my Husband asked me "when are you going to make that 'Eggplant thing' again?", I just KNEW I had to come in here to rate this a 5! Who could have known?! Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used the basic ingredients, added more, subtracted a few and came up with a very tasty meal. I added roasted red pepper and zucchini, old wine, white wine vinegar, a touch of chilli powder and cut out some off the water and replaced with chicken stock. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Great use of leftover eggplant! Not spectacular but a nice tasting stew that got better after a few days. I used a cup of tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes and added chicken boullion, omitting any additional salt. Also omitted salami just because I didn't have it! Probably would have been delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Pretty good, but wish the broth had more flavor. As it was I used 1 can chicken broth for some of the water, but should've used more. Adding a few red pepper flakes when serving gave it a little extra kick. Family loved it though, so I may have been picky that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this stew---much like a chili but much quicker to make. Very nice flavor and texture and just the right amount of spices. Would recommend with a nice piece of crispy French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I modified this recipe to omit the meat and the tomato paste. It was good, but not something I'm likely to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States