Chickpea and Couscous Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nice simple recipe. Glad I read the other reviews which inspired me to make some changes of my own. Used lime, balsamic and fresh herbs and made double the amount of dressing. Also added celery, bell pepper and blanched asparagus. Best prepared the day before to enhance the flavours. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I've made a version of this for a few years but always felt it was missing something. I love this recipe and intend to replace my old and rather boring one with this. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed a few things and next time I will also. I used spinach couscous and also added garlic and onion in the olive oil stated in the recipe. I also used a mix of salad vinegar and ff italian dressing. Next time, I won't use the chickpeas but add more tomato and cucumber. I'll also add more garlic and onion (i only used tiny amounts this time) and it is so much better cold! So good cold. Will also try it with original couscous rather than spinach to see if that adds/changes the flavors offered. Good base recipe to build on to your own liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is a very simple and healthy recipe. The only problem I found was that it is a little bland, so I added red peppers and substituted balsamic vinegar for white. I love the mixture of beans, veggies and couscous though! an awesome combination of textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I'm being a bit forgiving on the rating because I think this has potential and it made a quick and easy lunch. This was a tad boring and I used vegetable broth and tomato flavored balsamic vinegar, much more than the recipe called for and yet I still couldn't taste it. I used whole wheat cous cous, cherry tomatoes (around 1/2 cup or so, cut in half), but didn't have a cucumber. I think this would be better with more balsamic and olive oil, perhaps with some parmesan sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe! Very simple to make and tasted excellent. I used the couscous flavored with pine nuts and it added a nice crunch. Overall, a creative spin on ordinary couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Yhis recipe was simple and delicious. I took the advice of another reviwer and added garlic and herbs as well as a little lemon juice. I also used vegetable broth for some of the water when cooking the couscous. Overall this was easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is one of my favorite side dishes. Can go with almost anything. very good. wont be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I thought this was very good - simple, easy to make, healthy...I don't like cucumbers, so I skipped them. Next time I will add something green or yellow (peppers?), it needed that visually. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I made this for a dinner party and it was a big hit. I doubled the recipe and added a little more vinegar and fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States