Chickpea and Couscous Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I made this for a PTO luncheon at our school. I had mixed reviews about it though. I did alter it as sujested the extra oil was a must. I used the seasoned couscous and used chix. broth. I added basil, cilantro, parmesano and minced garlic. As for the vinegar I had white on hand but not quite anough so I topped my measurment off with cider vinegar,so I'm wondering if that was it. My family seemed to like the left overs. It was easy enough that I do plan to try it again with the basalmic w/maybe a bite of sugar to cut the taste. Thanks, it was great for a last minute dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheKooktracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, New York, USA
Living In: Theresa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I really enjoyed this, and the only thing I did differently was adding much more EVOO than what the recipe called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was pretty tasty but I think it should be 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup white vinegar instead of teaspoon. Otherwise it's way too dry and has no flavor to speak of. A little fresh mint might be nice in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a nice and simple recipe. I added a bit more olive oil and vinegar for more of a punch. I also added sliced red onions to bulk up the veggies. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Easy, healthy and flavorful. I have a hard time getting my children to eat vegetables. My only mistake was I made this to be a vegetarian entree and the amount was more suited to a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
While the recipe was OK and probably a good picnic food, there just wasn't enough flavor for our liking. I made it 2 times, the first time with chicken broth, the second without. Definately use the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was my first time using couscous and this recipe fit my taste buds! I did change a few things - I used lemon juice instead of vinegar (as others suggested), diced canned tomatoes (with juice) and I added some tarragon to the dressing. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this at work and quadrupled the recipe for the large group I had. I cooked the couscous in veggie stock as others mentioned. I made the dressing using 3/4 cup each of olive oil, white vinegar, and lemon juice. I added some dried basil to it as well. It was awesome! I served it cold and the group loved it. I think it would have been very very dry had I only used the 1 teaspoon of olive oil and white vinegar called for in the quadrupled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I found this recipe delicious but I did tweak quite a bit so I can't give the full five stars. Instead of water, I used vegetable broth and what a flavorful difference. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white, and garlic infused olive oil, and again, a great flavor boost. I also used a red onion. It tasted fabulous! I think this recipe lends itself to many different variations and tastes - it's very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was my very first couscous experience and now I am addicted! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very good. The tomatoes and cucumbers make it a refreshing meal. I did double up on the olive oil only because I love the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States