Chickpea and Couscous Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I made this for a PTO luncheon at our school. I had mixed reviews about it though. I did alter it as sujested the extra oil was a must. I used the seasoned couscous and used chix. broth. I added basil, cilantro, parmesano and minced garlic. As for the vinegar I had white on hand but not quite anough so I topped my measurment off with cider vinegar,so I'm wondering if that was it. My family seemed to like the left overs. It was easy enough that I do plan to try it again with the basalmic w/maybe a bite of sugar to cut the taste. Thanks, it was great for a last minute dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheKooktracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, New York, USA
Living In: Theresa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I really enjoyed this, and the only thing I did differently was adding much more EVOO than what the recipe called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was pretty tasty but I think it should be 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup white vinegar instead of teaspoon. Otherwise it's way too dry and has no flavor to speak of. A little fresh mint might be nice in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a nice and simple recipe. I added a bit more olive oil and vinegar for more of a punch. I also added sliced red onions to bulk up the veggies. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Easy, healthy and flavorful. I have a hard time getting my children to eat vegetables. My only mistake was I made this to be a vegetarian entree and the amount was more suited to a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
While the recipe was OK and probably a good picnic food, there just wasn't enough flavor for our liking. I made it 2 times, the first time with chicken broth, the second without. Definately use the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was my first time using couscous and this recipe fit my taste buds! I did change a few things - I used lemon juice instead of vinegar (as others suggested), diced canned tomatoes (with juice) and I added some tarragon to the dressing. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this at work and quadrupled the recipe for the large group I had. I cooked the couscous in veggie stock as others mentioned. I made the dressing using 3/4 cup each of olive oil, white vinegar, and lemon juice. I added some dried basil to it as well. It was awesome! I served it cold and the group loved it. I think it would have been very very dry had I only used the 1 teaspoon of olive oil and white vinegar called for in the quadrupled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I found this recipe delicious but I did tweak quite a bit so I can't give the full five stars. Instead of water, I used vegetable broth and what a flavorful difference. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white, and garlic infused olive oil, and again, a great flavor boost. I also used a red onion. It tasted fabulous! I think this recipe lends itself to many different variations and tastes - it's very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was my very first couscous experience and now I am addicted! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very good. The tomatoes and cucumbers make it a refreshing meal. I did double up on the olive oil only because I love the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States