Chickpea and Couscous Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I thought this was a little dry and lacked flavor. I'm not sure if that was because I chilled it to serve as a cold salad with BBQ. The only change I made was to use Israeli couscous which is bigger & puffier . It's usually more most too. I also added some lemon juice at the table to add a little zip. I'm not sure what it needed-maybe more oil or even some salad dressing. I'd like to make it again to bring to a potluck but I'd definitely want it more moist. Tip: Make it in a sealable container before refrigerating. When you are ready to serve, tightly cover the top of the bowl and SHAKE, SHAKE, SHAKE to break up all the couscous. Let your kids do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is fantastic when served with something much more flavorful. I've made it twice: once as written and once with a few changes to add some flavor since I wanted it for lunch. To add some flavor the second time around I flavored the water I cooked the couscous in with 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. black pepper, and 1 tsp. cayenne pepper. I also added some onions cooked up in olive oil. Those changes made this a couscous dish that could stand on its own for those days when you don't have anything else to serve it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very good. I use flavored couscous and forgo any spices. I also use balsamic vinegar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Yum,yum,yum! I think I found the dish that I am going to be eating ALL summer! Loved it! I used red wine vinegar in place of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinabumbina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this recipe for dinner guests this Saturday to rave reviews. In fact, far too much of the dinner conversation revolved around the couscous. They loved the cukes. I will say that I felt like I needed to add a lot more oil and vinegar, salt, pepper and garlic powder to the recipe. I also ended up adding quite a bit of cumin just for some punch. I don't want to say it is bland...maybe subtle. As one other poster said, it's perfect served with something more savory so your tastebuds get a break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYBEAN31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I put this together as written with the exception of leaving out the cucumber. It is a very 'quiet' dish, which is good if you are serving a main dish with a lot of flavor going on. If I did this again, I would sautee some fresh onion and garlic in the pan before adding the couscous. As it was, after taste testing, I added in black olives and some crumbled feta cheese. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Since reading this recipe, I have made it over four times - and it´s only been a week! Perfect quick, healthy lunch for me and my guy. However I added much more olive oil and some lemon, too. Tuna can be added in a pinch, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very quick and easy recipe to make. I made a few changes and it was a hit, I omitted the cucumber and used spinach beef broth and balsamic vinegar. This added just a little bit more flavour. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My husband and I love couscous and this recipe puts a great twist on a basic dish. I did not include tomatos; just cucumber, chickpeas, chicken stock and balsamic. We used 1/4 cup of balsamic which gave it a nice kick. I wouldn't suggest using that much if you are not a balsamic fan. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A very yummy recipe! And fairly flexible, too. I added bell peppers and used balsamic vinegar. I doubled both the oil and the vinegar... everything turned out great! Make sure to use the full two tomatoes -- they taste amazing in this salad. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States