Chickeny Chickeny Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this tonight! My 4 year old granddaughter had seconds! I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 onion. I used powdered bouillon. I used parboiled rice. I cooked it on the stove top. I did not add extra salt and no pepper. We served it with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Simple and flavorful. I cooked this on the stovetop rather than in the oven and it came out wonderful. I also substituted chicken stock for the water and this enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I just made/ate this! I've never made rice this way before...I WILL be making it AGAIN!! AWESOME!!! I paired it with crockpot Cornish game hen (forgot a veggie)! SO glad my Emeril pan withstood the oven and heat! A definite repeat cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Monte, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've been making this great basic recipe for years with slight modifications. I use "converted" rice for great results. Use 3.5 cups of water, 4 bullion cubes and 2 cups of rice....for unsticky results. Bring all ingredients but the rice to a boil, add rice, stir, bring back to boil, stir and cover and reduce heat on stovetop to its lowest setting. Perfect results everytime. Can mix finely chopped veggies and herbs into cooked rice and recover the pot for 10 min to add additional colors, textures and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya W.
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I doubled this recipe, so instead of putting the skillet in the oven, I used a 2qt baking dish. I also added a little parsley flakes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gordonville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is delicious. I do not usually even eat rice, but I needed a side dish and this one had the ingredients I had in my pantry. I used Pam instead of oil and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Light instead of butter to reduce calories and it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Wonderful. Just like a recipe from many years ago which I hadn't been able to find. Even my youngest son loved it - and he isn't fond of rice in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good rice. Subtle flavor. I added about 1 cup frozen peas to the rice when cooking was almost complete. Will make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe really jazzes up rice, which is a staple in my diet. And it goes great as an easy-to-make side dish. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this with a few additions and it was delicious. I also made it on the stove top, but added about 1/2 cup of water and more bullion at the end as rice was getting too dry. I also added some frozed peas and carrots and fresh chopped parsley at the end of the cooking. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States