Chicken with Sausage and Dried Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I thought this recipe was great, the chicken became a little dry, but adding more broth would make it perfect, or tenderizing it a bit. I gave it 5stars my boyfriend thinks it should have 3-4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was great. I think the best thing to come out of my crock pot! We had it with risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This was a great recipe. I had never started with frozen chicken before and will do it always from now on. The chicken didn't get dry like it usually does. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I was sold by the ease of dropping the chicken breasts in frozen. This recipe was easy and unique. The sweet and salty tastes combined were delish... loved it when accompanied by rice pilaf or buttered & salted grits... polenta would also make a great pairing for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Great Recipe. Hubby says this is his all time favorite crock pot recipe. . . and we make a LOT of crock pot recipes. Smells great and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is a great and easy recipe to throw together when you're going to be gone all day. There is a lot of flavor and the mix of chicken, sausage, and the dried fruit really combine well. As for my own recommendations, I think the frozen chicken is a must. I also added 3/4 cup of mushrooms to the veggie mix and used a dried fruit mix instead of just dried apples. Chicken broth is a little too boring for me, so I used beer (Sam Adams Summer Ale worked very well). As for the dried chives, it's not something I keep lying around so I just used fresh chives. All in all, a great recipe and one that gives you a little leeway to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was a great slow cooker recipe. There was a whole lot of flavour in this dish. I added a handful of dried apricots, and some mushrooms, and used fresh parsley and mild Italian sausage as that was what I had on hand. Loved the end result. We will definitely make this one again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe turned out fabulous. I did cook the turkey sausage, onion, green pepper, and garlic together in a skillet first. I layered the frozen chicken, sausage/pepper mix next and followed the rest of the recipe. I actually had three potatoes that I needed to use so I wrapped those in aluminum foil, poked holes in them and placed them on top of the recipe already in the crock pot for the entire 11 hours that it cooked and they turned out perfectly! So, we had a delicious meal with spinach salads, baked potatoes and chicken and sausage with a sweet and spicy punch! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was my first thing to ever cook in a crock pot, and it was wonderful! I followed the recipe to a T, but used dried apricots instead of the apples. Also used organic chicken stock and frozen chicken breast tenderloins, as I had that on hand. I also didn't have a lot of time, so I cooked it on High for 3.5 hours, and it was perfect! Served it over wheat couscous, it wowed my guests and they all praised this easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States