Chicken with Rice (Arroz con Pollo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was delicious! The only thing I did differently was use a package of yellow rice that already had the seasoning in it instead of the white rice, salt, pepper, and saffron threads. I also used a jar of pimentos and olives that were already chopped. My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
not the best, wont be making this again, I was not happy with the quality , I would not call this Arroz con pollo, other than the fact this had chicken &rice, there was nothing Authentic About it, this was a tomato spanish rice with chicken , I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
So fake, I don't know if this is Cuban or Brazilian, but definitely not Mexican with all those peppers and olives....maybe Texmex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I have had spanish rice before and it was never this odd tasting. I found this recipe to be a dissappointment and here is why: The whole tomatoes. The whole tomatoes ruined the dish for me, making it very tomato-ey which did not taste good. Also there was no specifics on how to season the chicken. I know that the seasoned chicken is a major part of the flavour and was dissapointed. overall a bad recipe for spanish rice if you are looking for an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaishodge

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUMMY! My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Soooo good! Eating leftovers right now! Hubby and brother-in-law (both fussy eaters) liked it too:) I made a few alterations to suit our tastes, and it was exactly what I was hoping for. The alterations I made were: (1) I substituted boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of the skin-on chicken thighs because my husband and I don't like dark meat (therefore I put the chicken into the rice instead of on the top of it before baking as I didn't want it to dry out) and (2) I put a little less than half of the tomatoes called for and replaced with a proportionate amount of extra chicken broth so that the rice had enough liquid to cook. The full amount of the tomatoes called for looked like it would be too much... Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Was just the right amount of spicy (we like medium spicy food). Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
it took longer than expected to make, but it was great! A delicious recipe that I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Fabulous flavor and super easy preparation! I was on a small cooking frenzy today and also make the "corned beef for sandwiches" recipe from this site. When that meat was done, I threw cabbage, potatoes and carrots in the cooking broth while the meat set-up wrapped in foil. Well dinner tonight was a cross cultural event. We has this wonderful arroz con pollo, but the side dish of vegetables was the cabbage, carrots and potatoes from the corned beef! Anyhow, it all tasted great! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I used Jasmine Rice instead of long grain rice. Rice was so overcooked. Be careful so as not to make the same mistake I did :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe down to a tee and it was delicious. The rice had a lot of great flavor. As the chicken rests on top of the rice for cooking, it didn't have a lot of flavor but I really liked the skin's texture. I think next time I repeat this dish (and I will), I will brine or marinate the chicken for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States