Chicken with Rice and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bud Weiser
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I really liked this meal! This is the first time in my life when I made gravy by scratch that it actually turned out properly. The one change I made was to add hot sauce on the chicken while cooking it and that added just the right "kick" to the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud Weiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I was a little skeptical at first by reading some of the reviews but I absolutely adore this recipe!!! Well worth the try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Where to begin with saying good things about this recipe? Like another reviewer, I have trouble frying things - not an issue here. Chicken was perfectly done in 20 minutes (10/side) - fully cooked, juicy, and not one bit burned. I also have issues making gravy. However, this method worked great for me. The only problem was that we wanted more of it! I might consider increasing the servings to 6 for the gravy alone next time. My family devoured this meal, and even more impressive, it was on the table 30 minutes after we walked in the door on a busy weeknight - a new record! I even had time to clean up the kitchen while it was cooking! Served with Brilliant Sauteed Broccoli, also from this site, for a family-friendly, fuss-free dinner. Mashed potatoes instead of rice would be a nice way to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The chicken was delicious. I made the roux using chicken broth as one reviewer mentioned and it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is the worst recipe I have ever made!! No flavor whatsoever. I recommend you skip this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was an easy and delicious meal! The chicken turned out great and went well with the rice. The gravy on the other hand did not turn out. Next time I'll try a different gravy recipe, but won't change a thing with the chicken. Thank you for a great chicken dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this tonight and it was pretty good. I wish I had read some of the other reviews as the gravy was a bit bland. Will definitely use chicken broth the next time around. Chicken turned out well and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Yes it was good and the best part is that I learned to make gravy for scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
A little bland for our taste. We used the left over chicken for taco soup and it was terrific in that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States