Chicken with Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Awesome, EASY, and an overall excellent choice! I made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! I substituted garlic powder for fresh garlic and used equal parts of sour cream and half and half. Also, I added salt and pepper to taste and let the completed sauce simmer as recommended (about 10 min). Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I would have given this 4 1/2 stars but decided to give 5 stars because it is a wonderful recipe as is or for adapting to personal tastes. Cook the bacon (I used regular pork bacon) separately, add pepper flakes or cayenne to taste, and no need to heat the red pepper cream sauce ingredients if the red peppers are packed in water...just blend with the sour cream & milk and then add to chicken mixture. Suggest only browning the chicken pieces before adding everything else so that the mixture can simmer for at least 30 minutes and not overcook the chicken. Very flavorful! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I served this over pasta and it was perfect. The kids even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This dish was fantastic. I did modify a bit and add extra spice. I doubled the garlic, added salt and pepper, i also used real bacon rather than turkey bacon. For the peppers i sauteed two large red peppers which i had cut into strips after removing seeds and pith. I doubled the peas. Instead if the evaporated milk i used ahalf and Half. If you like a kick also add red pepper flakes to taste. Served with Farro but any pasta or rice would work. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and very good. We changed it a bit by serving it over bow tie pasta. I thought it was a little bland (this may have been the peppers I used) so next time I'll kick it up with some red curry or cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was nice. Needed a little extra seasoning and some time to simmer on the stove. Thanks for sharing, I'm always looking for new things to do with roasted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was an easy dinner to put together. Though I did make some changes, rather than oil packed red peppers, I used fresh and roasted them myself, a much better flavor than oil packed and I used fresh cream. Really very nice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I left out the peas because... well I don't like peas! Very tasty recipe, but I found it difficult to get the bacon to crisp in the same pan as the chicken and had to remove it and fry it in a separate pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was pretty good. Husband and I both agreed that it needed a lot more garlic. I was worried about the peas, but they fit the dish fine. I agree with PP who said that it's hard to crisp the bacon with chicken in pan. I served it over whole wheat couscous. I'll make it again, next time with more garlic and probably cream, then it will be able to hold its own enough to go over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good, but mine came out super greasy...and that was after using peppers packed in water instead of oil! Next time I'd cook the bacon separate from the chicken so that it could crisp better, cut the olive oil down to about 2 t (using 1 t for the onions & garlic, 1 t in with the peppers), and add in some extra garlic and red pepper flakes to give it a boost. I'd also go with rotini or ridged penne instead of plain fettuccine, so that the sauce would stick better to the noodles - mine slid right off. Tasty overall, but a few minor tweaks made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States