Chicken with Red Grapes And Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding some fresh minced garlic. Overall, we enjoyed this meal greatly. Very gourmet "comfort food" if that makes sense. Placed the chicken atop garlic mashed potatoes and ladled the sauce over everything. Nice presentation. My husband said it was one of his all-time favorite chicken recipes (and he hates chicken). Next time, I would like to add a bit more flavor to the chicken while it is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is incredibly rich. Almost too delicious! The purple color didn't bother me at all. Makes it seem more gourmet, lol. I might tone down the cream and butter next time for reasons others have also mentioned. But in any case, you gotta try this one. If you're a novice like me, it will take more than 30 min, but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I added fresh sliced squash and zucchini to the mushrooms and it was heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I think the sauce would be awesome on salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was delicious -- probably one of the best recipes I've made thanks to Allrecipes! I used more mushrooms than the recipe called for (a whole large container of sliced mushrooms). I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce, as other reviewers suggested; that worked perfectly. I also used white cooking wine instead of red, and I served the dish over egg noodles and with a green veggie side -- yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I used the suggested amount of salt and found it to be too much, but a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I took the advice of other users and used white wine and some garlic. It worked, even though I used whole milk instead of heavy cream. I thickened it with flour, as someone else suggested. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
First I made this as written. Pretty good. Weird color and screamed for more flavor...not a fan of thyme, so Next time I only used a pinch of thyme, a couple cloves of garlic and white wine. Really enjoyed it this way. And, yes, thickened it with flour...Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was so delicious !! Although we did not add the grapes. We've made this many times and always look forward to it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was easy to make, flavorful and fun. I used 1/2 syrah I had leftover and 1/2 white cooking wine - I was planning on using all syrah until the last minute when I started getting worried about the color (the color with 1/2 red wine was fine in my opinion and next time I'll either stick to all white wine or all red wine). I substituted Italian seasoning instead of thyme only because I didn't have any thyme, but I used one teaspoon instead of the tablespoon it called for. Used two chicken breasts but cooked the full amount of the sauce because we like our food with plenty of sauce leftover. I also used the entire container of mushrooms (at least 2 cups). The rest of the instructions I followed closely. I would note that it takes longer than 3 minutes for the cream to reduce and thicken. My husband also loved it, saying it tasted "restaurant quality." I served it over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States