Chicken with Red Grapes And Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Ok. I really enjoyed this dish. It was simple to prepare, light and flavorful. I would use white wine instead of red, the next time I prepare it. I didn't like the "purple" hue of the chicken. It was a bit watery and I had to add a little flour to help it along. It has a heavy Thyme flavor, so if you don't love Thyme, reduce the recipe to 1/2 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was delicious -- probably one of the best recipes I've made thanks to Allrecipes! I used more mushrooms than the recipe called for (a whole large container of sliced mushrooms). I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce, as other reviewers suggested; that worked perfectly. I also used white cooking wine instead of red, and I served the dish over egg noodles and with a green veggie side -- yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Easy and enjoyable. I used fresh sage instead of dried thyme, and sauteed the sage with the mushrooms. Next time I might use more red wine (or perhaps port wine) to give the sauce a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding some fresh minced garlic. Overall, we enjoyed this meal greatly. Very gourmet "comfort food" if that makes sense. Placed the chicken atop garlic mashed potatoes and ladled the sauce over everything. Nice presentation. My husband said it was one of his all-time favorite chicken recipes (and he hates chicken). Next time, I would like to add a bit more flavor to the chicken while it is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I took the advice of other users and used white wine and some garlic. It worked, even though I used whole milk instead of heavy cream. I thickened it with flour, as someone else suggested. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Em
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
First time cooking with grapes! I used half-&-half instead of heavy cream. I added oregano, basil and a dash of curry powder! I don't think the grapes added much flavor but this recipe was interesting to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The flavors melded pretty well, but it's also pretty rich. My husband thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is incredibly rich. Almost too delicious! The purple color didn't bother me at all. Makes it seem more gourmet, lol. I might tone down the cream and butter next time for reasons others have also mentioned. But in any case, you gotta try this one. If you're a novice like me, it will take more than 30 min, but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was so delicious !! Although we did not add the grapes. We've made this many times and always look forward to it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
this sauce had no flavor and the pasta absorbed it all so it came out dry. I reheated it later on and added some butter and Parmesan to the pasta and it was a lot better.. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States