Chicken with Red Grapes And Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I took the advice of other users and used white wine and some garlic. It worked, even though I used whole milk instead of heavy cream. I thickened it with flour, as someone else suggested. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I used the suggested amount of salt and found it to be too much, but a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
First I made this as written. Pretty good. Weird color and screamed for more flavor...not a fan of thyme, so Next time I only used a pinch of thyme, a couple cloves of garlic and white wine. Really enjoyed it this way. And, yes, thickened it with flour...Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. The grapes were something out of the ordinary and a nice surprise. Chicken can't go wrong cooked in any kind of wine (and the color did not bother us a bit). But, I found the cream sauce to be too watery. It needs to be a bit thicker. I did try to "reduce cream for 3 minutes" as stated in the recipe - but it never thickened up. Maybe a little corn starch would have helped? Other than that, we thought it was very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was "ok" my kids and husband ate it, but I just didn't care for the taste. The red grapes are a nice touch and do give the chicken some flavor. I didn't use red wine but white and my daughter snapped the picture of it while I was cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this meal served over garlic mashed potatoes. Instead of the red wine, I used white, and I also sauteed fresh minced garlic with the mushrooms. In addition, I cut the red grapes in half for more bite size pieces rather than eating them whole. The meal was delicious. I would definitely serve it to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was delicious -- probably one of the best recipes I've made thanks to Allrecipes! I used more mushrooms than the recipe called for (a whole large container of sliced mushrooms). I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce, as other reviewers suggested; that worked perfectly. I also used white cooking wine instead of red, and I served the dish over egg noodles and with a green veggie side -- yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Ugh! I don't know if I did something wrong, but the red wine made the chicken a horrible color. My husband saw it cooking and asked what kind of meat it was--beef? The taste was okay, but the looks put us both off. We ate it but both agreed it was not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I think the sauce would be awesome on salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This dish tasted great but, quite honestly, looked awful! The red wine gave the chicken a horrible color! I will try it again but, next time, I will definately use white wine as one of the previous reviewers suggested. Also, I doubled the mushrooms called for and it really could have used even more --- they cook down to almost nothing so I think that is another thing I would suggest others do, especially if they like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States