Chicken with Red Chile Sauce and Sausage (Pollo con Salsa Rojo y Chorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, with the one exception that I did not "salt to taste". It came out perfect. Very delicious and dusky tasting. Served it with Spanish rice. The chili's used in the recipe are not especially hot and work very well to make this an extremely savory dish. If you prefer a hotter dish, I would recommend using a hot chorizo sausage as opposed to a mild one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was very good, I followed the directions almost exactly. I did add a few extra chile de arbol pepper to make it a little more spicy. I served it with cilantro lime rice and tortillas. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was great! Followed recipe, minus the chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We really didn't care for this. I had high hopes but it just was not suited to our tastes. The sauce was not spicy at all, but the flavour just tasted too much like the dried peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Great! I used a few different chili (passia, californian ect.) Only because I don't like the guajillo chili too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Had trouble finding the guajillo chiles, had to substitute with California chilies. Not sure if that makes a lot of difference with the taste. I was expecting more flavor from this recipe as well, but it had a good flavor with the addition of more salt. Did like how the chicken fell off the bone though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I make my own red chili sauce a lot as I love New Mexican style cooking. I toast the chilis first very briefly in a hot iron skillet to bring out the flavors. It only takes 20-30 seconds on each side, but be careful not to burn them. I also toast and grind whole cumin seeds to add to the sauce. You can spice it up a bit too with a variety of chilis. Add a dried chipotle chili to the mix for a smokier and more spicy sauce. Chilis by themselves might tend to make a sauce that's somewhat bitter. You can temper that by adding a small can of tomato sauce if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was great and very authentic tasting. As a previous post said it has that "dusky" flavor, earthy, which is what separates real mexican food from a chalupa from taco bell. The dried peppers are the key. One thing I will say is make sure you really grind the peppers finely in your food processor for several minutes. I don't think I did this enough and was left with lots of little pieces of the dried pepper skin in the sauce, which are tough and fibrous, like having slivers of crab cartalige in your crabcakes if you don't pick over the meat enough. Also add your salt at the end to avoid oversalting if your chorizo is salty. I took the advice of other posts and added one chipotle pepper for heat. Really this was a great sauce as far a flavor goes. I boned and shredded the chicken back into the sauce then served it wrapped in warm flour tortillas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good, very hot and full of rich flavor. This took a minute to cook, but it was well worth it. Tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great sauce. My first attempt using dried chiles. The sauce is so good that I think I'm going to skip the chicken next time and just pour it over roasted veggies and rice. Will cook it for the hour first so it will thicken. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States