Chicken With Portobello Mushrooms and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe - portobello and artichokes, what's not to love? The recipe was easy and it smelled delicious, but we were seriously let down at how bland the meal was. It definitely needs some love and attention to kick up the flavor, something that I just didn't have the time for. If you're looking for something quick and easy that's delicious, this is not the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I needed a recipe with portobello mushrooms and chicken but I didn't add the alcohol because I will be feeding it to my daughter, and I didn't use as many artichokes. Guess it needs to be followed to the "T" or else it just tastes like chicken and beef broth. I gave it 4 stars because I didn't follow everything in the recipe, so I'm sure the original is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was pretty good. From the reviews and the ingredients I expected it to be a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
perfect any time of the year.....thanks for a very special recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Thank you! I've made it several times; it's definitely a favorite. Very simple and versatile recipe. Fantastic paired with just about anything. I'd recommend serving over grains rather than pastas, however, unless the pasta is couscous. I can't imagine omitting the brandy like many reviewers have, it adds such a wonderful flavor to the dish. Use a good aged brandy and you wont regret it. I also don't understand the comments about this being "bland". I'm salivating just thinking about this recipe! I add minced garlic, use marinated artichokes, add a splash more brandy, and give the sauce much more time to reduce and thicken. Turns out beautifully every time. I like the suggestion of adding kalamatas, but I think with that addition I'd substitute sherry or red wine for the brandy. I just don't see kalamatas and brandy mixing very well. Kalamatas are soaked in red wine vinegar, after all. I also like the suggestion of adding heavy cream to the sauce. It's an incredibly delicious dish as is, but I think I'll try the cream for a little change and update afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe,however, I did make a couple changes---1st-don't cook chicken too long, when it's pounded it only needs about 3 min, then I used some heavy cream for the sauce. Fabulous! Trust me. O.K.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Fantastic! and a really quick and impressive looking with very little effort involved! I used chicken soup broth instead of beef broth and brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I was disappointed in this recipe. All the ingredients gave me high hopes (which is why I gave it three stars), but if you make this as written (with the exception of the broth--I used chicken broth) it comes out bland and too lemon-tasting with too thin of a sauce. I am planning on making it again only this time I will make several changes. I will follow the tips of reviewer mwbarker by adding kalamata olives and skipping the brandy and doubling the broth. I will also reduce the lemon from the juice of one lemon (1/4 cup) to 2 tablespoons. I will also add 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes, and add cornstarch and half n half to the sauce. I will give an update soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Love this recipe! It is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I ad-libbed with this recipe, as I wanted to bake it in the oven, and didn't have all of the ingredients the recipe called for. For instance, I substituted scotch whiskey for the brandy and normal mushrooms for portobello mushrooms. I baked it on 400 for ~1/2 hr covered, then ~1/2 hr uncovered, basting every 15 min or so. The family raved! I served this with couscous to absorb the delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States