Chicken With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This tasted great!! I did what others suggested and added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the chicken broth. I also sauteed the mushrooms beforehand with olive oil and garlic. I then added salt and pepper to the egg before dipping the chicken in. Although I used italian bread crumbs, I added some other spices such as oregano and rosemary, since some people complained that it turned out too bland. Lastly, I added the cheese (I used swiss) during the last ten minutes of baking. Served with fettucine. DELICIOUS!! I will difinitly make again, and again, and again, and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
885 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I have made this dish several times and am always impressed with the results. However, I do some modifications: I always saute my mushrooms first. I have tried both canned and fresh... both turn out well. I also never add the cheese until the last 3-5 min. of baking time. One time, I forgot to add the cheese at the end so I made up a plate, put the sliced cheese on top and melted it in the microwave. My husband preferred the cheese this way as it was not so runny. I think from now on, I'll just melt the cheese on the chicken through the microwave. Also, with the runny sauce at the end, I thicken it up with a bit of cornstarch. This sauce/gravy is perfect on rice. This recipe has been added to the family favorites. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
542 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Delicious!!!!!!! I did use way more mushrooms then called for since everyone in my family loves them...I also used powdered chicken bouillon in place of the chicken broth and seasoned the chicken a bit for extra flavor. I made about 2 cups of the bouillon (maybe more) removed the chicken from the baking pan when done and thickened it with some corn starch which made a fabulous gravy. I also waited to the last 5 minutes or so to put the cheese on. I served this with white rice and my family absolutely loved it...very moist and tender. The only request from my family was more gravy next time since it was so delicious over the rice. Next day leftovers (only 1 piece) was also delicious. As an added note, I sauteed the mushrooms in some olive oil first. When I made this a second time, I didn't saute them and it really didn't turn out anything like the first time. I ended up taking the mushrooms out of the baking pan and sauteed them and then put them back in the baking pan (didn't come out as good as the 1st time, but it would have been horrible otherwise). I finally realized I could update my review (thank goodness) because I wouldn't have given the review I originally did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Made this last night using "baby bella" mushrooms, otherwise followed it out the window. This definately needs to be "kicked up a notch", will make again, but will saute mushrooms(large sliced ones) a little first in butter, garlic and wine then remove to the pan you are using for the oven. Then saute the breaded chicken in the same pan using a little more butter, garlic and wine. Also I think you should use a salted mozarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Very flavorful--I sauteed garlic and half of the mushrooms in olive oil before putting in the pan and added cream of mushroom (as suggested by others) to the broth. The rest of the meal consisted of extra wide egg noodles and steamed broccoli. My whole family loved it. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
AWESOME! I took other's advice and added the cream of mushroom soup and sauteed the mushrooms in some olive oil and garlic first. I also pounded the chicken to make sure it would be done in the timeframe recommended. The chicken was extremely moist and the flavors blended so well. I also like a stronger cheese, so in addition to the mozzarella, I added some asiago slices too. I put the cheese on the top 15 minutes into the baking time and let it get brown and bubbly. Even my VERY picky 2 year old ate this. Husband says it's a keeper. Both of those make this a winner in my book...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We LOVE this at my house. I saute mushrooms and 1/2 a chopped onion in some oil, adding garlic in the end. Then I transfer to a dish and brown my chicken (just dredged in some seasoned flour). I then remove the chicken, deglaze with the broth and then add it all back in, cover and throw in the oven for 30 minutes. I top it with shredded mozzarella after taking it out, put the lid back on for a few and then mix it all together. Serve with buttered noodles. My kids love it and gobble it up. Son (6) had 3 helpings tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is DELICIOUS!!!!.. My husband and I are crazy for this and already planning on making it again very soon.. I used 3 cups of fresh sliced mushrooms plus 1 can of mushrooms.. I also mixed in some green onions and about 1 tablespoon of minced garlic into the mushrooms.. and used the whole can of chicken broth... The chicken was so good that my husband said I could pass it off as a "gourmet" meal... definitely 5 stars from us!!! Kiki (Brampton,Ont Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Well worth the gooey fingers you get when dredging! This is the second time this week I've made this so I had to come rate it. The first time I made exactly to the recipe and it was great, ate it with egg noodles. Second time I used muenster cheese, poured the juices from the pan into the skillet I browned the chicken in, added white wine, garlic and onions and some corn starch for a thicker sauce, and it was awesome too! Great idea for two much used staples in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Ok so I read a good chunk of the reviews before I made it and I think the changes made it just perfect! HERE ARE MY REVISIONS: 1. Start out by pounding the chicken to about 1/3 in thickness OR slice it in strips 3. Used Italian bread crumbs and added about 1/4 cup of parmesan, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. pepper, and a few sprinkles of Italian seasoning. 3. Saute the mushrooms with 1 Tbsp. olive oil, 1/2 cup choppped onion, 1/2 Tbsp. of garlic (or one minced clove), and a few splashes of worcestershire sauce. 5. Like everyone else said, make sure to add a can of cream of mushroom to it. Summary: Otherwise follow the recipe as stated. I know this seems like its a bunch of added steps, but once you get going it doesn't seem like such a burden. This was really easy and fairly quick. Also I served it over ORZO pasta. NOTE: If you want to stick with a garlic theme, I highly recommend making it with "garlic cauliflower" found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States