Chicken With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Thank you KIMPAT for this lovely recipe. My family said it was one of the best dinners I've served. I made some changes according to what I had on hand, other reviews and just some on my own. Basically the same recipe though. I used italian breadcrumbs, sautéed the mushrooms and added finely chopped onion and garlic and a splash of red wine before baking. I used portabella mushrooms and thick steak cut mushrooms (pre-cut, had on hand) . I set the chicken on top of the the thick steak cut mushrooms because it didn't make sense to set the chicken in broth after crisping. I used provolone because that is what I had. Delicious! This is special and worthy of a meal to serve special guests or a special day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very nice dish. Instead of regular bread crumbs, I used Panko. I sauted the mushrooms with a yellow onion and a large shallot. I added tarragon and garlic powder to the Panko before breading the chicken breasts and then proceeded with the receipe except I didn't put any of the onion-mushroon mixture on top of the chicken when it went in to bake. I think the next time I will pound the breasts to make them uniform in thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbycopuyoc
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This turned out really good. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and sautéed the mushrooms as the previous commenters suggested. I used butter and minced garlic for sautéing the mushrooms. My fiancé loved it and so did I. Will definitely make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe for dinner hit the spot! I was a little scared that this would taste bland but I took suggestions from others to add a can of cream of mushroom. This tasted like restaurant quality food! I'll be sure to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
My Husband & I loved this. I only made 2 small changes. I sauteed the mushrooms 1st & used whole wheat bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This dish is great if you know what to modify. I didn't have any mushroom soup like the other reviewers suggested, so I dashed in a little soy sauce in at the end and it gave it so much delicious flavor! I also sautéed the mushrooms in organic butter and fresh pressed garlic before adding to the pan. I dipped the chicken in 2 parts egg, 1 part coconut creamer and then dipped it in 2 parts gluten free flour and 1 part dairy free parmesan cheese substitute seasoned with salt, pepper and italian spices. I served the chicken over brown rice, but I'm sure it would go great with quinoa too! *If you want to go completely dairy free top with the dairy free parmesan instead of mozzarella. If you want to go completely gluten free/soy free, use Bragg's liquid aminos instead of soy sauce, but use much less as it has a stronger flavor than regular soy sauce. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
LOVED LOVED LOVED it. Big hit with the hubby and my kids. Easy to make and didnt take a lot of time, or make a big mess. And there are no remaining leftovers to bag up.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe. These are the changes I made: I cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces and I used part finely crushed Ritz crackers and part seasoned breadcrumbs. I mixed about 1 T of Garlic Garlic (Tastefully Simple) & 1 T of Emeril's Original Essence into the breadcrumb/cracker mixture. After the chicken was sauteed, I put the broth in the skillet to get all the browned bits into the pan. I used shredded Italian cheese mix because that was what was in my fridge. My DD and DH agreed that this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Quite tasty! I used half white mushrooms & half baby bellas. Sautéed them with a bit of onion & garlic and added a splash of white wine before layering with the chicken. And I thickened the sauce afterward with some corn starch. Not certain I'll make it again as I have a similar recipe that's all done in one skillet, but it was good enough that even leftovers were gobbled up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This dish turned out great. I made some of the modification that other people suggested like saute the mushrooms, adding the cream of mushroom soup and adding the cheese at the end. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States