Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was great. Skipped the salt, used low sodium soy sauce and a little chicken broth rather than the bouillon and it was not too salty at all. Added a splash of Sriacha and tons of different veggies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good taste but my family couldn't get past the BLACK color it turned the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The black bean sauce makes it work. I used the jarred black beans to save some time. I omitted the water/bouillon/cornstarch and the soy sauce because black bean sauce is so salty on its own. Add some chili paste for a little kick. Next time I may add a small dash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I've wanted to use black bean sauce for quite some time now, so I decided to give it a try starting with this dish. Holy salt! I did read the reviews and didn't add any salt, and I used chicken broth instead of bullion and it was still WAY TO SALTY! In light, I was able to add about 3/4 cup of water and it ended up being right where it should be. Edible, but scary at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This really shocks me that so many people rated it so highly. I am completely disappointed. First off, following other commenter's advice, I cut down to add no salt to this, and reduced the 6 tablespoons to 3, and cut on the soy sauce. It was still too salty. I'm suspecting that might have been a typo, and in fact it should be 6 teaspoons, or 2 table spoons (again, with no salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Fantastic!!!! I didn't add the salt, used chicken soup base instead of the bouillon, and used green and orange peppers. I used low-sodium soy sauce, instead of regular, to cut the saltiness. My husband doesn't like cilantro, so I cut the amount in half....still tasted great! I served it with brown rice. I will make this again.... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
After reading the reviews. I left out the salt and subbed the bouillon cube for broth. My only other change is that I added shrooms but only because we love them. Very tasty but too salty as written so I am glad I read the reviews and made my changes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very simple to make & very tasty. I marinated the chicken in the black bean sauce & garlic before stirfrying the chicken in the sesame oil. The black bean sauce is pretty salty...I didn't need to add any additional salt, or the soy sauce. I did add some pre-sauted mushrooms & zucchini, as well as some black bean tofu, which really worked in this dish. Didn't need to do the cornstarch...the sauce was thick enough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly , Black bean sauce is salty and then adding salt and salty chicken bouillon made it inedible. I also found the sauce slimy. Luckily I made fried rice and had spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I really enjoyed this! I love black bean sauce. I did add water chestnuts. It was great! Hubby liked it too. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States