Chicken with Chipotle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
My family loved it ! Had some heat but not overwhelming - I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Felle Eckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I improvised because I didn't have chipotle in adobo, but it still came out great! I used 2 tsp of chipotle powder, 5 tsp of ketchup, 2 tsp of apple cider, and tsp of minced garlic in place of the adobo. To add a bit more heat, I also added some red chili pepper powder (will probably tone this down next time though haha). I also used chicken breasts like some of the other reviewers, and the whole family loved it. Will definitely make this again, and I'll try to have all of the ingredients next time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I followed this almost to a T except added chili peppers instead of chipotle peppers. My pickiest eater ate all of her plate. My "eater" didn't care for it at all. I may make this again but definitely with more "heat" and with boneless chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is one of my family's favorite chicken recipes. I always double the sauce and serve it with a Mexican rice recipe that uses chicken stock, celery stalks and a whole serrano chili pepper to cook long grain white rice after sauteing the rice a bit in olive oil. Sometimes to save time, I use cubed chicken breasts instead of legs. My adult son always requests this when he comes home. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Yum! I halved the recipe and cubed chicken breasts. Brown them at a high heat, and then removed them, added garlic and onions and then the puree sauce. Added the chicken back in to simmer for 15 minutes. So tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Easy and delicious. I shredded chicken off bone and let it marinate in the sauce, served with rice, black beans, guacamole on flour tortillas. I will try on shredded pork as well. I would like to try making chicken breasts in the crockpot to shred easier necpxt time, I did not feel like the roasting was that much of a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Loved this, great flavor. I did sauté onions and garlic for more depth of flavor and added to sauce. My husband prefers boneless, skinless chicken so I will try that next time as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I love this recipe! I use a version of this recipe with chicken breasts for chicken tacos with cilantro, feta and pickled onions. The chipotle in the chicken gives it just the right heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I'm a big fan of spicy food, and I love canned chipotles. Be aware that not all chipotles are the same--some of naturally hotter than others. If you're concerned about the heat, start with one. You can always add more, but you can't subtract. Be sure to include some of the adobo sauce from the can--this is what makes canned chipotle peppers particularly special. Again, beware of the heat in the adobo, too. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added about 1/2 of a small onion and several cloves of garlic (sautéed first) to the sauce. In the end, my sauce was good, but it needed salt. While the recipe says "salt to taste," more specific guidance would have been helpful. I also would suggest seasoning the chicken before roasting it in the oven--it's important if you want to develop layers of flavor. At the very least, use salt and pepper on the chicken. I noticed one review where the reviewer curdled the sauce. Sorry, but that's not a problem with the recipe, it's a problem with technique. If you pour the sauce into a really hot pan, of course the milk will curdle. If you start it in a cold pan, and heat it slowly, it will be fine. I served this over rice. It's a good, but not perfect recipe. But, it's super easy--and that is a big plus in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I make this recipe at least once a month, it's a great base. The reviewer stating that one can of Chipotle peppers was so hot it was inedible apparently doesn't like spicy food. I personally put two cans of Chipotle peppers in the blender (la costena are my favorite) along with most of a head of garlic and one bunch of cilantro. it tastes amazing, and just spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States