Chicken with Brie and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved my version of it. Didn't have brie but used mozzarella with success. Didn't do the sauce because the onions were plenty of flavor. Thx! Husband liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is becoming one of our favorite meals, although the more I make it the more I change it up a bit to make it lighter and faster. Usually I cook the sliced onions until they are translucent in just a tiny bit of butter, and then add a tablespoon of sugar and balmic vinegar. While that is cooking, I will dip the chicken in the egg, and then dredge in flour. Next, salt and pepper the chicken and brown on each side in a tiny bit of olive oil. In a casserole dish, I will lay the chicken, Brie, and top off with onions and bake all of that. While that is in the oven, I will make the sauce. I have never had any problems with the sauce... and I think it adds a lot to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
a project, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Loved it! My hubby said this is his #1 fav. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Easy and delicious, this deserves 5 stars and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
the chicken was great but the sauce didn't turn out...twice. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce was one big lump. Dumped that and made it again with not even a full tablespoon of the arrowroot and had the same result. The dish was fine without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hurley Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Everything was good, except the sauce. Followed the recipe and found that 1 x tablespoon of thyme and 2 x tablespoons of arrowroot - too much. Definitely too much arrowroot - had to add vermouth to the recipe to even make a sauce. One last thought - sweet (red) or dry (white) vermouth? I used dry vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I was very excited to try this recipe, but I have to say that I was a little disappointed. I love chicken, brie, and caramelized onions so I thought these things would go great together. It was just alright, not great. It took more time than I thought, and it was so rich it gave me a stomach ache. Also, look at the nutritional information...definitely not worth the 1500 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Excellent meal. Sauce didn't work for me (lumpy and nowhere near saucy). Don't think you'll miss it. Spoiler Alert - couldn't keep my hands out of the caramelized onions while the chicken browned. Might want to make more than you think you'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great as is ....Just to offer a lighter twist and to stretch the budget out.....Rather than breading the chicken and then topping the chicken with another piece... try one piece ( not breaded) , add raspberry preserves over the brie and chicken and wrap in phyllo. Light and yummy. You can even use poached chicken and sugar free preserves to be a little more healthy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States