Chicken with Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I prepared this for dinner and thought it was excellent. The only substitution I made was to use red wine vinegar. For such a simple recipe, it is a great result. I love the flavor of the blueberries when you bite into them in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is one of the best ways I like to do chicken, except on the grill. I like it alot more than pineapple or apple chicken. I used homemade strawberry jam instead of the apricot jam. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I thought it was good. My picky husband and three kids didn't want to try the blueberry sauce, but I thought it was very interesting. It's worth noting that the chicken is quite good without it as well. I will say that when I added the vinegar (cider), the aroma was very overpowering so be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very, very good. It's also good with strawberry preserves instead of the apricot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I was hesitant to try this, but it was AMAZING! It tasted gourmet, but was very simple to make! I didn't have dijon mustard, so I used classic yellow with a touch of cayenne for heat. I didn't use the full 1/3 c of white wine vinegar based on other reviews, but I thought the sauce was wonderful and don't think 1/3 c would be too much. I served this with asparagus and a side salad of spinach, feta, and pecans over which I poured the extra sauce. Everything paired so well together, my boyfriend was blown away! I will definitely make this again, especially for anyone I'm trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Really good and really fast! We loved it and didn't change a thing except for using sugar free apricot preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I was looking for a way to use up some fresh blueberries. This filled the bill perfectly! A few reviewers didn't like the vinegar, so I used slightly less than called for in the recipe (1/4 cup instead of 1/3), but it was fine and I think would have been perfectly good with the original amount. The tanginess of the vinegar and mustard was nicely balanced by the sweetness of the fruit. I didn't have apricot preserves, so I used raspberry and strawberry preserves. I also added about 1/2 cup water while simmering the chicken, because it seemed too thick with no liquid. It turned out perfectly. This is a unique dish, very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Too much vinegar! It was too strong for the other ingredients in the sauce. I even used the preserves (strawberry instead of apricot), but the vinegar taste was too much. I ended up picking the blueberries out of the sauce and eating those w/the chicken. My husband and daughter did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Yum Yum! I don't know why, but I was craving a combination of blueberries and chicken for a week, and your ideas made the perfect meal. I used mashed peaches and apple cider vinager, and I chose to bake it without the oil to avoid fat, but it worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Loved this!! Made it with Apricot/Pinapple preserves as it was what I had on hand. My 2 year old devoured it! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States