Chicken with Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Delicious. Used skinless boneless chicken thighs which makes preparation easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as written, except I used celery salt, because I didn't have any celery. It was delicious! I swear it even tasted better the next day! I'll definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very nice soup with no potato. Wonderful if you are looking for a non potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Our whole family loved this soup. We used chicken breast and more chopped baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used breast meat also and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Working on the recipe right now, and realized that the forgot to tell you to put the chicken back in the soup. So far fairly simple recipe and the house smells good, but my kids are a tough to please... Carrots, celery and onions are hard for them to swallow. Yum, more for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is perfect comfort food on this cold, snowy day. I didn’t have any chicken thighs but had a chicken breast, so I actually started at step 4 of the recipe using my homemade chicken broth. I put everything but the chicken breast in a crock pot on the low setting early in the day. An hour before dinner, I added the sliced chicken breast. Just before dinner, I shredded the now cooked chicken breast and added it back into the soup. Easy, easy, easy and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Tasty and simple! The only ingredient changes I made were to leave out celery because my husband won't eat it (used celery salt instead) and to add garlic powder. Other than that, I left this recipe alone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States