Chicken with Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Just made this recipe... Awesomeness!!! This is great comfort food. Thanks for posting. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is one of my go-to chicken stock recipes after we roast a chicken. I boil the bones and any left overs then use the stock and this recipe. Sage is the key ingredient. It is a warm herb that reminds me of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andiapple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Excellent! I made this with chicken breast and added some mushrooms and followed the recipe as written. I put it all in the crock pot. Amazing flavor and very easy. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Delicious! My family raved over this tasty soup. Perfectly seasoned with lots of chicken and vegetables, it was perfect for this February night. I did use boneless breasts rather than thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This one is a keeper. I used chicken broth instead of water and like half pound of chicken breast. I did not have poultry seasoning so I didn't use any. The rest I kept it the same, soup turn out very good! My husband and 2 years old daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very delicious! Used chicken broth and boneless/skinless chicken thighs. Also followed reviewer suggestions to cook the barley separately. Omitted the lemon juice and added a minced garlic clove. Such an easy recipe and just as yummy the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We made this with over 5 pounds of chicken, 1 cup of barley, sliced mushrooms, and added red pepper flakes to the spices. Also added some fresh spinach and grated parmesan at the very end. Wonderful thickness and perfect spices -- was one of the best chicken soups we've ever had. I dreamt about the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was pretty good and simple to make, without any really expensive ingredients. I don't care much for celery so I used extra carrots in its place and added a little celery seed to the soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was a first time to make this and I threw it all in the crockpot including barley and let cook for 5 hours. My chicken and veggies were frozen. It turned out really well. We added tabasco sauce once in the bowl. It was a nice addition. Perfect for a meal after over indulging for the last few days of Thanksgiving and today busy putting up Christmas decorations. It was great to come into the kitchen at dinner time and have this ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States