Chicken with Asparagus and Roasted Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Excellent as well as very easy and quick to make. I didn't have any roasted red peppers, so I just used fresh and it was still excellent. Quick, easy, very tasty and healthy to boot - what more could you ask? Will definitely make this again! Edited to add: Have now made this with fresh peppers and roasted red peppers - no discernable difference in taste. Might as well use fresh - it's cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was an interesting method for cooking chicken as I'm used to sauteeing it in either butter or olive oil. I thought I'd try this route for healthy cooking but the broth evaporated before the chicken was fully cooked so I ended up adding butter & olive oil after about 10 minutes. Although not how the original recipe intended, it turned out really good. If you don't have roasted red pepper on hand, you can just put it over a gas burner flame or grill it on a BBQ, black scorch marks and all, then peel, seed, and chop it up. It worked out great that way. When I added the vegetables, I covered the pan to keep the chicken moist. Total cook time was more like 10 minutes for 3 big chicken breasts plus 8 minutes more after adding the veggies. I think next time I might saute the chicken in olive oil, deglaze the pan with broth and then add the veggies chicken for last 10 minutes. The balsamic ties the strong flavor of the vegetables together with the chicken nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! I am on the South Beach Diet Phase 1 and I reaaly enjoyed this recipe! The 1/2 cup of chicken broth had evaporated when it was time to add the veggies, so I added more. It made a good sauce for the chicken. I double the vinegar and it gave it a little "kick". Since I didn't have any low fat cheese, I skipped it. I will prepare this often but will make sure that I have the low fat cheese on hand in the future. My husband loved it as well. He said "It's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This dish is WONDERFUL. Instead of the chopped tomato I used diced tomatoes w/chipotle. It added even more flavor. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
We love this dish! Perfect just the way it is - the flavors "meld" in your mouth! Only thing I did different was add more garlic mmmmmmmmm! Making it again tonight, Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This dish was awesome!!! The only changes I made was I added some chopped fresh basil, a little extra balsalmic vinegar, and stirred in the (low-fat) mozzarella cheese. Served with Italian Rice from this site. It was so good that I don't know if I will be able to wait til lunch today to have the leftovers! Thanks so much for the yummy, pretty, healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was fantastic. My chicken was still a little on the frozen side, so I diced it before cooking it. Other than that, I followed the recipie exactly and it came out great. The ingredients complimented each other quite well. I will probably increase the amount of broth and serve over some pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Edgewater, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This recipe is absolutely delicious!! I made it for my luncheon group & for some dinner guests & everyone wanted the recipe! This is easy to make, but tastes & looks like you slaved for hours. The flavors meld together wonderfully & an added bonus, it is very low-carb for us dieters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEKAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good! I'm not sure how much broth I used, I just poured it in the pan, I added the chicken and cooked it covered. I add the veggies and cooked them covered. The chicken came out so juicy and moist. The added cheese was great! I will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I loved this! The flavors tasted great together. I put the leftovers in a tortilla wrap and it was also very good. I roasted my own red peppers in olive oil. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States