Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is a classic French dish. You will get the same affect if you use 20 cloves of garlic, cut in half. The smaller you make garlic, the more potent it becomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yum! Used cut up chicken for convenience and chicken stock for the baking liquid which I then thickened at the end to make a velvety sauce to coat the chicken. This is easy, inexpensive, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My husband mashed the garlic from the pan up and we had instant garlic bread! Delicious recipe and VERY easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I found this similar recipe on the garlic bag. It used only olive oil, 1/4 cup. It included also, 1/2 cup white wine, 1/4 cup dry vermouth, juice of one lemon, 1 tsp of dried oregano, and minced fresh parsley. After putting all the ingredients on the chicken, place in a covered roasting pan 40 minutes on 400, then uncovered for another 30 to 35 minutes, and it was delicious. Thanks for providing this recipe, and I hope you try it with the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The first time I made this, even with all the garlic, the chicken hadn't picked up much flavor. I made it a second time, rubbing the chicken with more herbs and such. Then, after it was baked, pulled out the garlic to puree together with just a touch of melted butter - to poor over everything. Amazing. And perfect to sop up with a big fluffy roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe was very good and very easy. One of the few reliable one-pot wonders. The only difference is that I used minced garlic since my family LOVES garlic. Minced garlic is much more potent. I would have like the skin to be a bit crispy, but with the amount of liquid that's released, I would have had to taken the chicken out of the dutch oven and crisped it on a cookie sheet. Nevertheless, this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I've been making this for years. It's great and the garlic gets nice and sweet. I've also just used thighs with 20 cloves and that works great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I received a dutch oven for Christmas (thanks mom!) and this recipe turned out wonderfully in it. I used about 30 cloves of garlic, minced. After browning the bird, I tossed in the garlic, returned the bird to the pan, then added halved white potatoes, a yellow onion quartered, and two carrots cut into large pieces. I then added the remaining ingrediants for the original recipe, topped the pot with the lid and put into the preheated oven. This chicken as small, so it cooked in about an hour, and the aroma that filled the house was amazing. I let the bird rest for ten or so minutes before removing from the pan. I put the veggies in another bowl to serve alongside, and to make a quick gravy, added a can of campbell's wild mushroom condensed soup mix to the butter/garlic/olive oil drippings. My husband loved the meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
SO so so so GOOD! Loved this! This recipe was suggested to me and I adapted it for drumsticks. I did it just as the recipe calls for and it was delicious! I had the table all set, platter fixed just right so I could add my photo BUT I went to get the camera and by the time I got back to the kitchen the hubs had already filled everyones plates! Arghhhhhhh! LOL there went my perfect shot. Thankfully I will make again and get my pic up there too!-*-*-* Made this AGAIN, for my brother cuz it was THAT good! Got a pic this time.... also again, adapter for drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was a huge hit for me and my girlfriend. I used a roasting bag with the chicken. I browned the chicken in the pan with the butter and olive oil, then just added the spices and the lemon juice and water straight into the bag with the chicken, then added the garlic to the pan to start extracting the flavor and then added that to the bag well. After the chicken was finished cooking, I took the bag out and dumped the contents into a bowl and mashed the garlic and mixed that up. It made a perfect sauce for the chicken. It is my new favorite recipe and I will sure be making this again for my parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States