Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Outstanding kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
So flavorful! I didn't have the patience to properly brown the chicken on all sides, and I forgot to remove the juices from the Dutch Oven prior to adding the garlic, but this was super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Personally I prefer to lightly coat the chicken in a bit of flour before browning it. Also include 1-3 stalks of celery (depending on how large/intense the flavor), prefer rosemary with chicken, but thyme is fine; add a good sized splash of cooking sherry, use chicken broth instead of water, and well, we prefer to serve this dish with pan-toasted slices of French or Italian bread rather than the rolls one pinner enjoys - - - the garlic spreads so well and meshes so well with toasted sliced crusty loaf types of bread....... yum!...... We've *never* been low on flavor, though, in our estimation, the flavor of the garlic is best used on the bread..., and no, it is not intense garlic in the chicken - just great eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this recipe for my family I served it over a bed of creamy rissoto. Although I did not make it exactly to specification I did not stray far from the original recipe. I seasoned the chicken prior to searing and instead of using 1/4 cup water I substituted with almost 1 cup of good Chardonnay wine. I also added the zest of the lemon with the thyme on top of the chicken. This was a superb recipe. You can never go wrong with the combination of lemon, chicken, butter, and garlic. I fell my addition of the wine added another dimension of flavor to this already wonderful idea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent. Only hard part was turning the whole chicken. Served it with roasted brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made it exactly as instructed - cut the 40 garlic cloves up a bit. So juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is delicious!! Five stars from everyone in the family. And that can be a picky bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow, roasted garlic and super moist chicken. This was very yummy. I had this recipe recommended looking for recipes to use up a 1.5 lb bag of peeled garlic. No way, I would have sat and peeled that much garlic. It almost got my bag to half. If making this recipe that is the way to go. The bag is between $2-$3 dollars at a whole sale club. When the recipe says to remove part of the cooking fat make sure to do that. The garlic produces plenty of liquid as it cooks down. I had my chicken in the oven 90 minutes, but it got left another 30 minutes due to being busy. The one I used was around a med-lg size. After I took the foil off I thought the skin needed some crisping. I set the oven to 420 and put it back in the oven uncovered about 15 more minutes. I planned to take a pic but when I lifted it all of the meat fell right of the bone. For some that is a problem, for me that equals super moist chicken. I think this will make good sandwiches with a piece of chicken and some of the smeared roasted garlic. It was tasty too. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The first time I made this I was disappointed with the lack of flavor. The next time I crushed 10 of the garlic cloves and that added a lot more flavor, also used chicken stock and wine for the liquid. Yummy! Now I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Rikhus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waubun, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ulen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I think next time I will put the garlic inside the chicken for a little more flavor. But all in all this was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States