Chicken Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this. I'd make it again. I sauteed the veggies in butter and then added the flour and broth, etc(Didn't want to wash another pan) I had cooked chicken from a previous meal so that was handy. My husband said it needed punched up a bit. But it was a good comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Excellent!!! Have made this MANY times. The soup is easy and delicious. I use a lot of extra chicken. I boil the chicken in the chicken broth and then shred it with two forks. I also add a little heavy cream at the end. It adds a nice touch to the taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The execution of this recipe as directed is unusual, boiling the vegetables, for instance, rather than sweating them and proceeding with the recipe, which is what I did. The chicken bouillon granules wouldn't contribute much beyond salt, so I left it out. Similarly, dried parsley wouldn't contribute much either, save for a little color. I skipped that too, and used fresh Italian parsley. Fresh garlic and thyme filled in for the garlic powder and dried thyme called for. For added flavor, as well the long grain rice it includes, I used a box of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice.I did choose to add the white wine. This is not a spectacular soup as written, tho' it is much improved with some small changes. It's a satisfying soup that should appeal to most tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Used what I had on hand, sauteed veggies first, and let the rice cook (prior to thickening) along with other ingredients while the soup simmered. I used a mix of wild and brown rice - tried alone with just broth after rice cooked and not impressed. Added a couple of Tablespoons of cream of mushroom soup as I was starving and what a difference. Delicious! I don't like using canned items and as I never got around to adding the roux, next time will try the roux in leu of the cream/mushroom soup. The nuttiness of the rice is a lovely addition - thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I grew up in Brainerd Minnesota where wild rice soup is a staple this soup is very good.I added more onion and my family uses half and half other wise this soup was like going home.I live in Montana now and I still have family send me rice from home it is better then the rice you get in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Love it ! Thank you! Time consuming to make but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
The white wine added a lovely flavoring to the soup. I used brown rice instead - still turned out delicious. Also, used about a tablespoon of half and half per bowl when serving. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I thought it was a bland and ordinary tasting soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dainah Craft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Made this recipe for a group of friends and they all said it was a winner! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
My husband and I both enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States