Chicken Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I too thouht this looked like a good recipie. After reading the reviews I made a few changes. First, I added pepper to the recipie. Secondly, I cut down the amonut of flour to 1-1 1/2 tablespoons. My soup was not mushy, I do think the pepper in the recipie added a lot of flavor. I suggest you try this recipie with the alterations. I'm guessing putting to much flour in the recipie makes it mushy after cooking all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
I took this advise and cut down on the amnt of flour. My soup wasn't mushy. I too used some pepper and salt in the recipie. My husband and I liked it, so we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
I liked the diversity of this recipie. I made it in the crock pot. I didn't cook the chicken ahead of time, but sitting in the crock pot all day, when I came home I had a delicious meal. My family was impressed. Try it I bet your family will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
i too added seasoning and cut down the flour. my soup turned out well, my husband and i both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This soup is easily 5 stars with the alterations I've made. I followed the recipe as above, but cut the amount of flour in half and left the skins on the potatoes. From then on, I: - put frozen chicken breasts in and diced them later. - added a can of green beans - added some garlic - added sliced carrots - added some frozen peas I had - added parsley, rosemary, savory, salt, and pepper - all to taste. After cooking for 6 hours it was ready to serve. It was delicious, 5 star material. Looking back, the only thing I might change would be to add the rice later on as it had all but turned to a mush. But on the other hand, it added to the overall thickness of the soup which I enjoyed. I think if you make the alterations as I have you'll find this soup to join your list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Z.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I am not sure if I did something wrong, but it was way too thick for my taste. I added a can of chicken broth at the end. My husband and I just loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROL S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe did look very basic and possibly tasteless so I used "zataran's" new orleans stlye long grain and wild rice(instant flavor). I omitted the boillon but added a large pinch of garlic powder. I didn't use potatoes because my husaband is allergic and there is enough starch but I threw in some mushrooms. It was very, very good but not absoluotely incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
it was a little dry to be called a soup...more like a chicken rice stew, but my H loves thick soups so it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tryingcake
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very simple. I did not add rice. I just could not fathom potatoes and rice in the same dish. Since I had potatoes I wanted to use up, potatoes it was. I also did not not precook the chicken. It went in raw and actually still a hint frozen. I added the cream at the end and also the Wondra (in place of flour). Tasted fine. Not over the top, not bad. Just a nice easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I would recommend adding the milk and flour at the end of the cooking time instead of the beginning. Mine floated to the top and then looked kind of gross when I tried to stir it back in. Also, next time I will use half as much wild rice. It soaked up all the liquid and I had to add more water. I will also try adding carrot and celery next time. I liked the subtle flavor and the way it made the whole house smell good. All in all, this was a keeper. I will be making it again, but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States