Chicken Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
Sorry but my family will not go for this one! I anticipated a yummy dinner tonight and instead I have a crock pot full of tasteless mush---must order pizza now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I too thouht this looked like a good recipie. After reading the reviews I made a few changes. First, I added pepper to the recipie. Secondly, I cut down the amonut of flour to 1-1 1/2 tablespoons. My soup was not mushy, I do think the pepper in the recipie added a lot of flavor. I suggest you try this recipie with the alterations. I'm guessing putting to much flour in the recipie makes it mushy after cooking all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I would recommend adding the milk and flour at the end of the cooking time instead of the beginning. Mine floated to the top and then looked kind of gross when I tried to stir it back in. Also, next time I will use half as much wild rice. It soaked up all the liquid and I had to add more water. I will also try adding carrot and celery next time. I liked the subtle flavor and the way it made the whole house smell good. All in all, this was a keeper. I will be making it again, but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Flavorless, unless you like the taste of wallpaper paste, flour and water. I added herbs and spices, but couldn't get that slow-cooked, flavor enhancing blend of flavors. I even topped it with grated cheese but it wasn't a keeper. The remainder went down the disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This soup is easily 5 stars with the alterations I've made. I followed the recipe as above, but cut the amount of flour in half and left the skins on the potatoes. From then on, I: - put frozen chicken breasts in and diced them later. - added a can of green beans - added some garlic - added sliced carrots - added some frozen peas I had - added parsley, rosemary, savory, salt, and pepper - all to taste. After cooking for 6 hours it was ready to serve. It was delicious, 5 star material. Looking back, the only thing I might change would be to add the rice later on as it had all but turned to a mush. But on the other hand, it added to the overall thickness of the soup which I enjoyed. I think if you make the alterations as I have you'll find this soup to join your list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Z.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
This looked like an excellent recipe to me. I love using my slow cooker for soups and I had some wonderful white meat to make it with. HOWEVER, it was tasteless, and I did not like the consistency. Sadly I ended up tossing the whole thing! Sorry to have wasted the money and energy. It was easy to make but not worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
I took this advise and cut down on the amnt of flour. My soup wasn't mushy. I too used some pepper and salt in the recipie. My husband and I liked it, so we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I don't think the recipe needed flour; at the end of four hours, the flour had floated to the top. I cooked the soup in the crock pot for four hours, and when I came back to it (someone else was around to stir) there was no broth, but that may be because our crock pot cooks a little hot. I liked the milk and I think it would be better if there were carrots, celery, etc. and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Very bland -- I could tell from the recipe it would be bland, and even added spices to make it less so, but to no avail. I had the same problem as another reviewer with there not being enough liquid. The rice expanded so much that I had to transfer half the soup to another crock pot, which was a big mess. My step-daughter liked it, but it made so much (about a gallon), I don't think she's going to be able to eat it quickly enough and I expect I'll have to throw out half of it -- waste of good chicken breast, potatoes, and wild rice. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
i too added seasoning and cut down the flour. my soup turned out well, my husband and i both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States