Chicken Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I'm giving this four stars, only because I made enough changes to make it so. This would be mediocre, at best, without the changes. After all, it's still just doctored up canned soup. I used fresh carrots rather than canned, added mushrooms, cooked crumbled bacon,fresh minced garlic and a glug of white wine. This was way too thick for my liking, but was easily remedied by throwing in some chicken stock. The soaking step for the rice simply isn't necessary---just cook it beforehand as the package directs and add it at the end. The final result was very good, but it was a lot of tinkering around for what was still canned soup. I would have been better off, and with the same amount of work, just making the darned soup from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love this recipe! The first time I cooked it, the wild rice was still a little bit stiff, even after soaking for nearly 7 hours, so the second time I cooked it, I put the whole works in the crockpot for a few hours after it was all mixed together, and it was DELICIOUS! My husband even liked it, and he is not a big fan of wild rice/chicken dishes. My Dad and his girlfriend loved it too, as did my Mom. I will definitely make this again and again. It freezed beautifully, so I pull out one serving at a time for my lunch and microwave and stir until it's warm enough to eat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This soup is awesome. Instead of soaking the wild rice over night I just precooked it then added it to the soup mixture. Besides being a hardy meal, it is super easy. It goes great with homemade wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
YUM! Very good flavor. I made this in a crockpot. Julianned the carrots and used sour cream instead of the milk. Added thyme and a bay leaf for added flavor. Everyone loved it!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
LOVED IT! I mircro waved my rice before I put it in the crockpot. I had equal amounts of rice and water, cooked for 20 minutes and it came out perfect- hardly iany water left- I just dumped it all in the crockpot. Because I did that, it cut cooking time way down. It was ready in 3 hours. Hit the spot on a winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This soup is absolutely delicious. It's thick, creamy, and is great for chilly nights. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This recipe is so wonderful! My mother-in-law asks me to fix it every time she comes to visit. The soup is great comfort food. I slice my own fresh baby carrots. Also I do not soak the rice, instead I cook the rice before I start the soup. I put my sliced carrots in the same pot as the rice so they cook up together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I took advice from another review and cooked the rice completely ahead of time and added it to the soup toward the end. I used fresh carrots instead of canned so I cooked them with the onion and celery. Needed a little more salt than the recipe called for, I thought, but otherwise, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
very good. i used pine nuts instead of almonds, more water and less milk because i don't like things too milky, more salt, some pepper. and some chili peppers, cause i like it spicy. this is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This really is a great recipe. I even used some leftover grilled chicken and rice from another meal and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States