Chicken Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
LOVED IT! I mircro waved my rice before I put it in the crockpot. I had equal amounts of rice and water, cooked for 20 minutes and it came out perfect- hardly iany water left- I just dumped it all in the crockpot. Because I did that, it cut cooking time way down. It was ready in 3 hours. Hit the spot on a winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I took advice from another review and cooked the rice completely ahead of time and added it to the soup toward the end. I used fresh carrots instead of canned so I cooked them with the onion and celery. Needed a little more salt than the recipe called for, I thought, but otherwise, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe was a HUGE HIT for an 'all soup' luncheon that we had... I couldn't find regular wild rice at the store, so I bought two boxes of Rice A Roni LG/WR and only used one of the season packets when I soaked it overnight. I re-boiled as instructed. I also added a can of chicken broth and about 3/4 of a cup more milk to increase the overall amount. Almonds MAKE this dish (great texture!) so be sure to include it. Also - we have leftover chicken from a birthday party the night before...so I cubed up 3 BBQ'd chicken tenderloins AND (ready?) about 12 chicken nuggets!! LOL - it was awesome! By the time the whole thing cooked (and then was transferred to a crock pot for another 2-3 hours), the breading was cooked off of the nuggets and no one knew the difference! Awesome recipe - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I think I've figured it out - we don't like Cream of Chicken soup! This soup was pretty tasty once I added a bunch of milk. I really liked the addition of the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few modifications based on other reviews written and it's great. I precooked the rice, drained most of the water, and added it at the end instead of soaking it overnight and then heating it in 1C water. That way I was sure to get the texture I wanted. I also used precooked chicken, so in all it took less than 2 hrs. I wasn't sure about the almonds, but boy do they add to the soup! I even added a few more than called for. I used chopped almonds. I think I'll keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This turned out to be a great meal! I cooked it over low for about an hour, and made just a few minor tweaks...I used chicken thigh meat because it doesn't dry out like breast meat, and used a scoop of the quick cooking long grain/wild rice blend instead of pure wild rice. Also, I added a generous dose of Old Bay seasoning and a pinch of kosher salt. Anyways this soup was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This soup was exactly what I was craving! It was easy to make and turned out well. I precooked the rice in the microwave instead of soaking it. I also added some fresh sliced mushrooms with the celery and onion. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This soup was a wonderful main dish with a side salad and fresh bread. I used fresh sliced carrots and added a bit more milk when re-heating. The extended family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
HUGE success with family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup was a big hit with a very diverse crowd. The only thing I did different was use a little less butter in the soup. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States