Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love this, but I do not include mushrooms or almonds to suite my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe from a fellow Minnesotan! I made it pretty much as written, except left out the dry mustard (didn't have any) and used red wine instead of sherry. 1 hour of simmering was plenty. A small salad and warm french bread made for a delicious, hearty meal. I'll be making this again on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Tried it for the first time, this will definitely be a repeat dinner! I added poultry seasoning, a little cayenne pepper and used white wine instead of sherry. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made recipe as printed with only minor changes. Doubled celery & carrots to 1 cup each. Did not add almond slivers. Food processed the mushrooms. Used red wine instead of sherry. Kids ages 10, 9 & 6 loved it! "Better than Panera!" said my 10 year-old. This is very high praise in our house! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I love soup. I really loved this soup. My husband does not love close to not even liking soup. My husband loved this soup. It is flavorful with layers of texture. I did not have sherry so I used beer instead. I definitely will double and freeze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow. Use a large enough vessel and your veg isn't "swimming". I absolutely love what the curry brings to this dish. The Mr. raved about it too. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. It was a hit. Not too thin, not too thick. I used 6T corn starch instead of the flour to be gluten free, will try arrow root powder (6T) next time. My family doesn't care for curry, so I used thyme instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The soup was delicious! My four kids and husband had seconds and give this two thumbs up! The only thing I changed was splitting up the butter with some grapeseed oil so that it wouldn't burn while I was sautéing the vegetables. I also followed another reviewer's advice by using only 3 Tbsp. of flour for the roux because we didn't want the soup to be too thick and shredded the chicken before adding it so that it could go a long way. The flavor was satisfying and comforting, especially since today was -20F! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! I doubled the carrots and celery and added a little bit of chicken powder. I did not add the half-and-half. It was thick enough and the taste was outstanding. The almonds are a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is very good - a classic, traditional creamy soup. Easy to make; everything from scratch - couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States