Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! I doubled the carrots and celery and added a little bit of chicken powder. I did not add the half-and-half. It was thick enough and the taste was outstanding. The almonds are a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is very good - a classic, traditional creamy soup. Easy to make; everything from scratch - couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Yum!!! We loved it! I doubled the carrots, rice, curry and dry mustard. I didn't have sherry so, I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half and I didn't make a roux, I used cornstarch. I forgot all about the almonds but will truly it next time. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very delicious soup! I omitted the slivered almonds and added a bit more curry powder, mustard, and black pepper than the recipe calls for; I also added a dash of cayenne. I added a little minced garlic to the pan when I sautéed the mushrooms, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Through all the years and recipes I have used allrecipes.com, this is my very first review. I was compelled to write one because I love this soup so much! I have made it a few times and follow the recipe as it reads with a few changes.I boil chicken breasts with the bone and skin on and then use this liquid for the soup. Instead of using regular all-purpose flour, I use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All-Purpose flour. I have had some BAD GF experiences in the past. However, this one works well :) Also, I do not add the half-and-half or the sherry. I also add 1 1/2 cups uncooked rice (3/4 cup wild, 3/4 cup brown) and 3 extra cups of liquid. One final addition, I followed another recommendation from one of the reviews and doubled the curry powder. But checked on the flavor as the soup cooked (due to the additional liquid)...I ended up adding an additional 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder (a total of 1 1/2 teaspoons) and added more salt and pepper to taste. Thank you, Sue, for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maura McNulty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup almond milk, also a dash of cayenne.I also used half veggie broth and half chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
1/4 c butter & half flour. Omitted the cream Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Super tasty. I used canned mushrooms and red wine in place of sherry because we didn't have the others on hand. Still super tasty and pretty easy, just takes a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good, but I've made this twice and omitted the almonds the second time. I prefer it without! Would make this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
For me a recipe should be really good as is but still adjustable to my personal taste for 5 stars. I made this recipe as in and was extremely unimpressed, especially considering the ratings. I thought it was very very bland. I probably would not make it again unless there were lots of adjustments.It just needs flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States