Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I don't think I even added the half and half - this soup is rich and wonderful even without it. Yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sometimes I think I should not rate the recipe if I don't follow it exactly -- I made some minor changes and still think its 5 star! I did not have almonds or sherry on hand, and replaced the half and half with whole milk. The dried mustard and curry gave it a lovely rich flavor. WIll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was really good! I made exactly according to recipe, only omitting the curry powder (didn't have any and I don't care for curry anyways)...it was still very tasty but needed some extra salt and I used white pepper instead of black, adding a little extra. The finished product needed a little something, so I added celery salt. Perfect. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I too am a Minnesotan, and I love this soup! I made this recipe as is (except I left out the mushrooms because I'm not a fan), and I received lots of compliments at the party for which I made the soup. Another time, since 1 cup of uncooked wild rice makes 3 cups, I went ahead and put in all 3 cups of cooked wild rice and omitted the almonds. Also, since I'm lactose-intolerant, I decided to substitute 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup low fat lactose free milk in place of the half and half. I was able to eat it without an upset stomach and without taking pills. The soup came out really creamy and delicious, and the texture was better than before. I still give this recipe five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavors but the crock pot situation made it pretty gloppy. I bet it's good on the stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic soup! Quick and easy! I followed other reviewers suggestions and sautéed celery, carrots, mushrooms (if I have them), and onions with a little bit of butter or olive oil then add the chicken, broth, and water. I definitely think the added vegetables makes it a more heartier soup, and anything to add more vegetables to my kid's meal, I am all in! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I love this recipe, but I have to double all the spices and then add just a smidge more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I was really excited about this one but as I looked at the small ratio of spices to liquid I shoudl have trusted my gut. We thought this was terribly bland. I wonder if it may have been intended to be tablespoons instead of teaspoons? I will make it again but will use more of the spices for sure. At least double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Not a favorite but made a decent lunch. I wonder if we'd like this better as a brothy soup rather than a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This soup is superb!! I added a little curry to my chicken for flavor and also added a few pieces of habanero pepper skin for added flavor. I also added a bit more rice for added heartiness and used only half the recommended mushrooms for our own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States