Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JoJoB
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazing - nothing bothers me more than people changing the recipe and giving a bad review-even if I change it I usually don't say I did. However, I have to share what I did as I think it made a difference for the good. I thought I had enough wild rice at home but I didn't. I had uncle bens long grain and wild rice- I used it (and the flavor packet) and I used a splash of Johnny Walker black Scotch as I didn't have sherry and scotch is bold and rich. Those are the only substitutions. This soup was amazing, hearty, creamy and nutty. I cooked the chicken in olive oil as I was sautéing the veggies and broke it apart with a wooden spoon when done-it made the soup rustic and even more hearty. I think the scotch and curry made this dish a winner. I'm not a curry fan but I'm so glad I included it. Watch the salt - if too thick, thin it with milk not chicken stock. I have tried many wild rice soup recipes and this is the best ever. Thank you for this recipe- so amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Making it again tonight.. perfect with no changes other than doubling the curry, omitting almonds (didnt have any) and using a splash of white wine in place of sherry. Excellent served in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Rouleau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was a whole lot of work for not a whole lot of taste. In fact, the taste reminded me of bland baby food until I added about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, which definitely make it much better. Also, I had omitted the salt, thankfully, because the broth I used was already quite salty. The consistency was okay. It only took about an hour to simmer and thicken up, but I had used one cup half and half and one cup full cream. Perhaps it would have taken a bit longer to thicken had I used all half and half instead. I think there are probably other recipes out there for chicken and wild rice soup that have a lot more flavor, but perhaps this is a good base to use and then add your own extra seasonings. I quite liked the almonds in this, and was surprised that they remained a bit crunchy despite having cooked for so long. But if you do like crunchy nuts in otherwise soft things, you may want to skip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Was delicious. A few changes were needed though: I used 4 carrots and 3 celery stalks, 1/2 cup of each would have been way too few. Also I would cut back on, or eliminate, the almonds - the soup was quite crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I added spinach instead of mushrooms and used batsmatti rice since I had it on hand. Instead of half and half, I used a little milk. Overall the soup was really thick, so each bowl I mad I stirred in some extra chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have been using this recipe for a few years and it is absolutely the best! I make this soup often and everyone who tries it, loves it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for chicken wild rice soup, and it gets rave reviews from family and friends. I've also used leftover turkey instead of chicken. For optimum results, follow the directions closely, and don't overheat it (see step 2). Thanks, Sue, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Very disappointed in the lack of flavor in what should be a rich and creamy deeply-bodied soup. When you get a great bowl at a restaurant, it is divine. As someone who makes lots of soups, looking for a terrific recipe for this soup not in my repertoire. Came away thinking something is not right. There is 8 cups of fluid in this dish with not much to flavor it. Ladled a small bowl and tried the curry...didn't resound with me, and I love curry! Plus, there are tons of curries, so which curry flavors did she use? Parsley doesn't add flavor, especially if cooked long and low, just a touch of color. Mustard just adds tang, but with 8 cups liquid, it was meaningless. Something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I don't think I even added the half and half - this soup is rich and wonderful even without it. Yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sometimes I think I should not rate the recipe if I don't follow it exactly -- I made some minor changes and still think its 5 star! I did not have almonds or sherry on hand, and replaced the half and half with whole milk. The dried mustard and curry gave it a lovely rich flavor. WIll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States