Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I added spinach instead of mushrooms and used batsmatti rice since I had it on hand. Instead of half and half, I used a little milk. Overall the soup was really thick, so each bowl I mad I stirred in some extra chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have been using this recipe for a few years and it is absolutely the best! I make this soup often and everyone who tries it, loves it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for chicken wild rice soup, and it gets rave reviews from family and friends. I've also used leftover turkey instead of chicken. For optimum results, follow the directions closely, and don't overheat it (see step 2). Thanks, Sue, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Very disappointed in the lack of flavor in what should be a rich and creamy deeply-bodied soup. When you get a great bowl at a restaurant, it is divine. As someone who makes lots of soups, looking for a terrific recipe for this soup not in my repertoire. Came away thinking something is not right. There is 8 cups of fluid in this dish with not much to flavor it. Ladled a small bowl and tried the curry...didn't resound with me, and I love curry! Plus, there are tons of curries, so which curry flavors did she use? Parsley doesn't add flavor, especially if cooked long and low, just a touch of color. Mustard just adds tang, but with 8 cups liquid, it was meaningless. Something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I don't think I even added the half and half - this soup is rich and wonderful even without it. Yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sometimes I think I should not rate the recipe if I don't follow it exactly -- I made some minor changes and still think its 5 star! I did not have almonds or sherry on hand, and replaced the half and half with whole milk. The dried mustard and curry gave it a lovely rich flavor. WIll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was really good! I made exactly according to recipe, only omitting the curry powder (didn't have any and I don't care for curry anyways)...it was still very tasty but needed some extra salt and I used white pepper instead of black, adding a little extra. The finished product needed a little something, so I added celery salt. Perfect. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I too am a Minnesotan, and I love this soup! I made this recipe as is (except I left out the mushrooms because I'm not a fan), and I received lots of compliments at the party for which I made the soup. Another time, since 1 cup of uncooked wild rice makes 3 cups, I went ahead and put in all 3 cups of cooked wild rice and omitted the almonds. Also, since I'm lactose-intolerant, I decided to substitute 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup low fat lactose free milk in place of the half and half. I was able to eat it without an upset stomach and without taking pills. The soup came out really creamy and delicious, and the texture was better than before. I still give this recipe five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavors but the crock pot situation made it pretty gloppy. I bet it's good on the stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic soup! Quick and easy! I followed other reviewers suggestions and sautéed celery, carrots, mushrooms (if I have them), and onions with a little bit of butter or olive oil then add the chicken, broth, and water. I definitely think the added vegetables makes it a more heartier soup, and anything to add more vegetables to my kid's meal, I am all in! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States