Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I love chicken wild rice soup and have been trying to find the perfect recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it...BUT it was still pretty good. The slivered almonds were genius and the whole family loved that. Overall though, I felt it was bland. The curry didn't do as much for it as I hoped it would and other than that, there isn't much in the recipe to really flavor it. I made the recipe as written up to adding the chicken broth, then I put everything but the half & half into the crockpot. I did cut the butter in half. I also doubled the carrots because we like more veggies in our soup. When I went to add the half & half at the end, the soup already seemed really thick so I just added a cup of skim milk instead. I was glad I did. It would have been WAY too thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This has become a staple in our home. Especially during the sub-zero Michigan winters. I followed the recipe exactly for the first round...AWESOME flavor but didn't care for the almonds. Second round...omitted almonds, doubled the curry & added celery...DELICIOUS. We love it so much that I now I reduce the liquids by half, add potatoes, peas & carrots and use it as our chicken pot pie filler!!! YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Wild rice was crunchy, but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love this soup! I would add more carrots and celery, though. I also used whole milk instead of half and half. This one is going in the recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I use fat free evaporated milk. It still comes out rich & creamy. (Signed a fellow Minnesotan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was delicious! My husband and I both loved it. Didn't change anything other than to use a little less butter and a bit more curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is only okay for me. It was a little bland, but I did like the crunch of the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Used less butter, and substituted fat free half and half. Didn't have almonds, but the soup was amazing! I've made this several times now and it's a real treat. It does freeze well, if we ever have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Wow! I didn't have any curry to add but delicious without as well. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States