Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Hubby and I loved this soup. He ended up eating three bowls in a row. I was hoping to freeze some, but by tomorrow, it might all be gone! The flavor was complex and altogether awesome. I used leftover “Forbidden Rice with Lime” (black rice), and two chicken breasts that I had cooked Sous Vide, and then frozen. Otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely (except cut the butter to ¾ stick, and cut the flour to ½ cup). I sautéed the veggies in the butter in a saucepan, stirred in the flour, then the chicken broth. Added the spices, chicken and rice, brought to a simmer, and put it all in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, then added about ½ cup of half & half. Served with slices of Asiago Parmesan bread, which we tore into pieces and dropped into the soup. I feel the Sherry, the mustard powder, and especially the curry, are key to the flavor of this soup. Next time, I think I will add the chicken and the rice later, during the last hour of cooking. I think this will keep the chicken from drying out a bit, and the rice from getting a bit mushy. Overall, this was great. It is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
We loved this soup. Worried a bit about the curry powder because I didn't want an Indian sort of soup. But it's just a touch to add a unique flavor that enhances the chicken flavors and not overwhelming at all. Pay attention to the part about not boiling or the roux will break, it did! But it still tasted great. I am trying it again but will be more careful to not let it boil at the end! I made it from scratch using some frozen chicken pieces that I wanted to use up and followed the recipe with no changes except for cutting back on the butter to 1/2 stick and with the cream at the end. Just use as needed to get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
It is an excellent recipe. I added an italian chicken sausage, like somebody suggested in reviews, and for a better flavor - 1/2 teaspoon cumin and just a tiny pinch of cinnamon. Right at the end of cooking I added chopped kale get it to boiling and turned it off - for making it even more nutricional. This is one of the best recipes I tried for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is my favorite soup and this recipe does it justice. I had boiled some gizzards earlier so I used that stock with the broth and thickened it toward the end. It is a great recipe. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight with a salad. Was delicious. Only omission was mushrooms because I didn't have any but I think they would have been excellent in this soup. Saved this recipe so I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Oh my gosh, this soup is awesome. I didn't use as much half and half because the soup was pretty thick as it was. I did double the curry as suggested, but other than that didn't change anything else. Threw away all other recipes for Chicken Wild Rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rposton
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
this soup is excellent! my husband loves it and calls it "restaurant quality". the great thing is it uses ingredients we usually have around the kitchen most weeks! the process of cooking is long, but its totally worth it! you also have leftovers for days (if you have a family of 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I used baby Bella mushrooms instead of regular mushrooms and omitted the almonds. I found it good, however felt more like cream of mushroom than cream of chicken. I had to add some chicken bullion flavoring to get one chicken flavor back. I think part of the reason is that 2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 is too much. I do plan to try it again, but this time will use 1/2 the mushrooms and cut back on 1/2 and 1/2. One cup may even be too much. Also, may make some additions to the seasoning at that time if still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I love chicken wild rice soup and have been trying to find the perfect recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it...BUT it was still pretty good. The slivered almonds were genius and the whole family loved that. Overall though, I felt it was bland. The curry didn't do as much for it as I hoped it would and other than that, there isn't much in the recipe to really flavor it. I made the recipe as written up to adding the chicken broth, then I put everything but the half & half into the crockpot. I did cut the butter in half. I also doubled the carrots because we like more veggies in our soup. When I went to add the half & half at the end, the soup already seemed really thick so I just added a cup of skim milk instead. I was glad I did. It would have been WAY too thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States