Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I was really excited about this one but as I looked at the small ratio of spices to liquid I shoudl have trusted my gut. We thought this was terribly bland. I wonder if it may have been intended to be tablespoons instead of teaspoons? I will make it again but will use more of the spices for sure. At least double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Not a favorite but made a decent lunch. I wonder if we'd like this better as a brothy soup rather than a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This soup is superb!! I added a little curry to my chicken for flavor and also added a few pieces of habanero pepper skin for added flavor. I also added a bit more rice for added heartiness and used only half the recommended mushrooms for our own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is the first time I try wild rice and this dish is a great introduction. I forgot the last three ingredients and frankly, I didn't miss them. I might just make them that way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made it exactly as described, honestly one of the best soups I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was a great tasting soup I did have a little trouble with lumps from the flour... However I am pretty sure that was from my lack of experience. Aside from that it was probably the best soup I have made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was soooo good. I will double the amount of rice next time but that is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This soup earned me the Grand Prize at a soup cook off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foxlair
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Can be much healthier if you sub olive oil for the butter, fat free half and half - and I used only 1 1/2 cups, for the regular. Used only 4 TBS corn starch to thicken, rather than all of that flour. Basmati and wild rice mix, because it was what I had on hand. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxlair
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have now made this twice. The first time I made it exactly like the recipe stated. The second time I made some minor adjustments based on reviews and our family tastes and, of course, we liked it better. I doubled the curry and used one more cup of broth and cut the cream to one cup. I also added more salt, added a little thyme and left out the almonds. We love it and I will make it again and again. I gave this five stars because I believe it is such a great recipe - and everyone should feel comfortable making a few minor adjustments based on your own tastes. I also want to add that I think any kind of rice can work. We used a wild rice blend and it was wonderful. Heats up beautifully for leftovers too - just add a little more broth because it thickens up, of course. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States