Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I just LOVE the smooth velvety texture of this soup! The curry is a great little note. The mushrooms add depth to the soup. The only thing I'm always unsure about.. I love the almonds, but the crunch reminds me of under cooked rice. So I'm not so sure about it. I think next time I'll just use fewer of them. Great recipe! its snowing here today and its just the perfect thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
We really enjoyed this. We used homemade chicken stock and leftover meat from a roasted chicken dinner a few days ago. I didn't cook it as long as called for in the recipe. We let it simmer about 30 minutes (without the half-and-half), then added the half-and-half and let it cook about another 10 minutes. Ditched the dried parsley, and added fresh right before serving. I also didn't have any wild rice, and used cooked brown rice instead which worked fine. We didn't care for the addition of the almonds, and will not put them in next time. Overall, a great soup, and a good use for our stock and leftover chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We've made it three times in three weeks and loved each batch. Be prepared, though - it's thick and very hearty. I added extra carrots/celery, skipped the mushrooms and almonds and used beer instead of sherry. Very, very good. My husband suggested reducing the liquid a bit and turn it into pot pie filling. We'll give that a go! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I found this recipe to be very bland.I would suggest only using maybe 2-3 T. butter with a little oil so the butter doesn't burn. Also I would use spicy curry instead of regular and add a little more than the recipe says. i did not put in the almonds. Personally, I wouldn't make this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delish! My partner loved it too. Her only complaint was that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dysprosium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I can't believe this is rated so good. The flavor is bland and it needed more veggies added to it. And it is SO thick, I ended up adding more chicken broth to it. I felt like I was eating a bowl of thick gravy. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Would give it more stars if I could!!! Don't poo-poo the curry....gives it a great flavor and would never know it was used! My husband wont get within 10 feet of anything with curry in it and he had no idea it had curry in it! Did not use almonds, didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent flavor! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is delicious! I used a roasted chicken from the grocery store and I think that made it even better. I also added a bit more salt (since my broth was low sodium) and some garlic powder. Took this and some homemade yeast rolls to a family who just had a bably and they LOVED it. Can't wait to make it again. The half and half makes it creamy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yummo! Used a white/wild rice blend, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup flour (I had eight cups of chicken broth), used some white wine in place of sherry, no dry mustard, added a bit of thyme and poultry seasoning - basically made the soup with what I had on hand. This is DEFINITELY a keeper - very delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States