Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow. Use a large enough vessel and your veg isn't "swimming". I absolutely love what the curry brings to this dish. The Mr. raved about it too. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. It was a hit. Not too thin, not too thick. I used 6T corn starch instead of the flour to be gluten free, will try arrow root powder (6T) next time. My family doesn't care for curry, so I used thyme instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The soup was delicious! My four kids and husband had seconds and give this two thumbs up! The only thing I changed was splitting up the butter with some grapeseed oil so that it wouldn't burn while I was sautéing the vegetables. I also followed another reviewer's advice by using only 3 Tbsp. of flour for the roux because we didn't want the soup to be too thick and shredded the chicken before adding it so that it could go a long way. The flavor was satisfying and comforting, especially since today was -20F! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! I doubled the carrots and celery and added a little bit of chicken powder. I did not add the half-and-half. It was thick enough and the taste was outstanding. The almonds are a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is very good - a classic, traditional creamy soup. Easy to make; everything from scratch - couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Yum!!! We loved it! I doubled the carrots, rice, curry and dry mustard. I didn't have sherry so, I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half and I didn't make a roux, I used cornstarch. I forgot all about the almonds but will truly it next time. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very delicious soup! I omitted the slivered almonds and added a bit more curry powder, mustard, and black pepper than the recipe calls for; I also added a dash of cayenne. I added a little minced garlic to the pan when I sautéed the mushrooms, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Through all the years and recipes I have used allrecipes.com, this is my very first review. I was compelled to write one because I love this soup so much! I have made it a few times and follow the recipe as it reads with a few changes.I boil chicken breasts with the bone and skin on and then use this liquid for the soup. Instead of using regular all-purpose flour, I use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All-Purpose flour. I have had some BAD GF experiences in the past. However, this one works well :) Also, I do not add the half-and-half or the sherry. I also add 1 1/2 cups uncooked rice (3/4 cup wild, 3/4 cup brown) and 3 extra cups of liquid. One final addition, I followed another recommendation from one of the reviews and doubled the curry powder. But checked on the flavor as the soup cooked (due to the additional liquid)...I ended up adding an additional 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder (a total of 1 1/2 teaspoons) and added more salt and pepper to taste. Thank you, Sue, for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maura McNulty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup almond milk, also a dash of cayenne.I also used half veggie broth and half chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
1/4 c butter & half flour. Omitted the cream Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States