Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I don't think I even added the half and half - this soup is rich and wonderful even without it. Yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sometimes I think I should not rate the recipe if I don't follow it exactly -- I made some minor changes and still think its 5 star! I did not have almonds or sherry on hand, and replaced the half and half with whole milk. The dried mustard and curry gave it a lovely rich flavor. WIll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was really good! I made exactly according to recipe, only omitting the curry powder (didn't have any and I don't care for curry anyways)...it was still very tasty but needed some extra salt and I used white pepper instead of black, adding a little extra. The finished product needed a little something, so I added celery salt. Perfect. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I too am a Minnesotan, and I love this soup! I made this recipe as is (except I left out the mushrooms because I'm not a fan), and I received lots of compliments at the party for which I made the soup. Another time, since 1 cup of uncooked wild rice makes 3 cups, I went ahead and put in all 3 cups of cooked wild rice and omitted the almonds. Also, since I'm lactose-intolerant, I decided to substitute 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup low fat lactose free milk in place of the half and half. I was able to eat it without an upset stomach and without taking pills. The soup came out really creamy and delicious, and the texture was better than before. I still give this recipe five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavors but the crock pot situation made it pretty gloppy. I bet it's good on the stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic soup! Quick and easy! I followed other reviewers suggestions and sautéed celery, carrots, mushrooms (if I have them), and onions with a little bit of butter or olive oil then add the chicken, broth, and water. I definitely think the added vegetables makes it a more heartier soup, and anything to add more vegetables to my kid's meal, I am all in! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I love this recipe, but I have to double all the spices and then add just a smidge more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I was really excited about this one but as I looked at the small ratio of spices to liquid I shoudl have trusted my gut. We thought this was terribly bland. I wonder if it may have been intended to be tablespoons instead of teaspoons? I will make it again but will use more of the spices for sure. At least double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Not a favorite but made a decent lunch. I wonder if we'd like this better as a brothy soup rather than a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This soup is superb!! I added a little curry to my chicken for flavor and also added a few pieces of habanero pepper skin for added flavor. I also added a bit more rice for added heartiness and used only half the recommended mushrooms for our own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States