Chicken Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We liked this one a lot. I knew I would be freezing this, so I went about making it a little bit differently. I cut way back on the butter for sautéing. I then added the broth and simmered to soften the veggies. I added the rice, chicken and seasonings. I did not add the flour, almonds or milk. This yielded 6 servings for me that I divided into 2-serving portions and froze. After thawing two servings, I reheated the soup. I made a roux using 2 T. of flour and 2 T. of butter and 2/3 cup milk. Once the roux has thickened, I add it to the hot soup. I don’t think the additional simmering time of 1 to 2 hours is necessary at all. I garnished mine with the almonds that I toasted in the oven at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes, until golden and fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I just LOVE the smooth velvety texture of this soup! The curry is a great little note. The mushrooms add depth to the soup. The only thing I'm always unsure about.. I love the almonds, but the crunch reminds me of under cooked rice. So I'm not so sure about it. I think next time I'll just use fewer of them. Great recipe! its snowing here today and its just the perfect thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
We really enjoyed this. We used homemade chicken stock and leftover meat from a roasted chicken dinner a few days ago. I didn't cook it as long as called for in the recipe. We let it simmer about 30 minutes (without the half-and-half), then added the half-and-half and let it cook about another 10 minutes. Ditched the dried parsley, and added fresh right before serving. I also didn't have any wild rice, and used cooked brown rice instead which worked fine. We didn't care for the addition of the almonds, and will not put them in next time. Overall, a great soup, and a good use for our stock and leftover chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We've made it three times in three weeks and loved each batch. Be prepared, though - it's thick and very hearty. I added extra carrots/celery, skipped the mushrooms and almonds and used beer instead of sherry. Very, very good. My husband suggested reducing the liquid a bit and turn it into pot pie filling. We'll give that a go! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I found this recipe to be very bland.I would suggest only using maybe 2-3 T. butter with a little oil so the butter doesn't burn. Also I would use spicy curry instead of regular and add a little more than the recipe says. i did not put in the almonds. Personally, I wouldn't make this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delish! My partner loved it too. Her only complaint was that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dysprosium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I can't believe this is rated so good. The flavor is bland and it needed more veggies added to it. And it is SO thick, I ended up adding more chicken broth to it. I felt like I was eating a bowl of thick gravy. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Would give it more stars if I could!!! Don't poo-poo the curry....gives it a great flavor and would never know it was used! My husband wont get within 10 feet of anything with curry in it and he had no idea it had curry in it! Did not use almonds, didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent flavor! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is delicious! I used a roasted chicken from the grocery store and I think that made it even better. I also added a bit more salt (since my broth was low sodium) and some garlic powder. Took this and some homemade yeast rolls to a family who just had a bably and they LOVED it. Can't wait to make it again. The half and half makes it creamy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States