Chicken Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It was a nice spice filled Indian inspired dish, but not what I consider to be chicken vindaloo. If you like your Indian food on the mild side, then this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was the best chicken I have ever had. Great recipe and easy to make. Served it over some basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe - very easy to make and full of taste. Received rave reviews from my husband and kids. I left out the potatoes and served with whole wheat naan. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I would give it 2.5 starts but that is not an option. I think this dish has potential but it just was not there. I agree with one reviewer that the dish has flaws. I took that person's advice and did not add the toasted spices so early in the process, but I don't know if that made a difference. But the chicken was finished well before the potatoes. In fact we gave up on them likely about 20 minutes after the chicken was done. One option would be to microwave the potatoes some first. However, to me even though we added all those spices I tasted mostly the cayenne pepper. My boyfriend on the other hand said the dish was bland. He suggested the dish would be better slow cooked so the spices can get into the chicken and the potatoes. So perhaps that would help. But as written I would never make it again. I love Indian food and with all the Indian spices I had high hopes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was okay. It's not quite the right spice combination for my taste and not quite spicy enough - maybe I need to add more cayenne pepper. The potatoes weren't quite done after 20 plus minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe had all the earmarks of having great flavor and I didn't follow the recipe verbatim, but I will say this. Overpowerfully bitter strong taste! Might be because I used whole cloves instead of ground? Also, when toasting the spices, I almost warn against this. If you do burn them, I think that could add bitterness. Also...when adding the onions the spices dry up all the oil, so it makes it very difficult to get a good sweat on them. toast spices spearately and saute the chicken in the onions and garlic first before adding the spices. Technical flaws galore in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was good, but I agree with the other reviewers. The spice combination was just a little off. I think I'd add less cloves, a touch more cinnamon, and some mustard powder next time. We DID finish the leftovers though so it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this and was pretty skeptical looking at all the different spices. While it was cooking I started to worry even more because it didn't smell anything like the vindaloo I know. In the end it tastes good but still not like the vindaloo I was hoping for. I found the Cardamon spice to be a bit overwhelming and would leave it out if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is fairly easy to make and a totally decent, tasty dish. That said, it just doesn't seem anywhere near spicy enough to qualify as a vindaloo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It's a very good dish but I don't think I want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States