Chicken Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I haven't had Vindaloo before, so I don't have that frame of reference but I thought this was great. I had to make 2 changes - I used breast of chicken and I did not have Cardamom. Otherwise made as written. I think the issue with others' potatoes not softening is due to 2 things. 1- you have to cut them into small cubes and 2- the cook time says bring to a boil then simmer- well it took a while to bring to a boil and then simmered for 15 minutes sounds a bit short to me. I simmered for 10 more minutes. I served for dinner over rice and just by itself in a bowl for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was ok. I probably will not make it again. Even with all the spices it seemed a little bland. There was a little heat to it that hit you a couple seconds after you eat a bite but my husband had to add hot sauce to his. I bet cooking it slow and long will make the flavors taste stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The potatoes were bland and hard to cook. Took me more than 30 minutes for it to cook. Mine turned out to be little sour but good flavor. I added bit of brown sugar and the sourness went away. I think its just an ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is fairly easy to make and a totally decent, tasty dish. That said, it just doesn't seem anywhere near spicy enough to qualify as a vindaloo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It's a very good dish but I don't think I want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I would give it 2.5 starts but that is not an option. I think this dish has potential but it just was not there. I agree with one reviewer that the dish has flaws. I took that person's advice and did not add the toasted spices so early in the process, but I don't know if that made a difference. But the chicken was finished well before the potatoes. In fact we gave up on them likely about 20 minutes after the chicken was done. One option would be to microwave the potatoes some first. However, to me even though we added all those spices I tasted mostly the cayenne pepper. My boyfriend on the other hand said the dish was bland. He suggested the dish would be better slow cooked so the spices can get into the chicken and the potatoes. So perhaps that would help. But as written I would never make it again. I love Indian food and with all the Indian spices I had high hopes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe had all the earmarks of having great flavor and I didn't follow the recipe verbatim, but I will say this. Overpowerfully bitter strong taste! Might be because I used whole cloves instead of ground? Also, when toasting the spices, I almost warn against this. If you do burn them, I think that could add bitterness. Also...when adding the onions the spices dry up all the oil, so it makes it very difficult to get a good sweat on them. toast spices spearately and saute the chicken in the onions and garlic first before adding the spices. Technical flaws galore in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It was a nice spice filled Indian inspired dish, but not what I consider to be chicken vindaloo. If you like your Indian food on the mild side, then this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was good, but I agree with the other reviewers. The spice combination was just a little off. I think I'd add less cloves, a touch more cinnamon, and some mustard powder next time. We DID finish the leftovers though so it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I think I put in a bit more ginger than I should have so it wasn't quite what I was expecting. My husband loved it though. I will try this recipe again and see how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States