Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
wow is this spicy.. It is very good when its hot out of the pan .. found a little vinegary once it cooled down. Will make it again. -- very quick and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I was really dissapointed with this recipe after reading all the great reviews! I guess it was just not my taste because it was waaaay too tangy and salty! I tried adding more sugar but that did not help. I gave it two stars because my husband thought it was okay but I will not be making this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I made a few changes to the basic recipe. I used LOTS of real garlic and added water chestnuts and broccoli. The only complaint is that it made too much sauce and I will decrease it next time. The heat is just right and the flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Well "Tocoyote", we'll have to rename you "Sid Vicious"! This dish was great and loved by the whole family! I left out the peas because for our tastes, I didn't feel they went well with the recipe. Veggie wise, I added, broccoli, scallions, baby corn from the can, green peppers and carrots for color. I did use the powders but also threw in fresh garlic and a bit of sesame oil. The next time I make this I'll do the cooking process a little differently, only because we like our vegies al dente. During the fifteen minute simmering, I'll only cook the meat and add the already stir fried vegies the last five minutes in order to keep them crisp. Although my family loves spicey foods in a big way, from the other reviews I read, I was worried that a tablespoon of the pepper flakes would be too much, so I only used a half. When I tasted the sauce, it didn't have enough of a kick, so I ended up adding some cayenne. The spice, sugar and vinegar combos were perfect and we all thought it was fantastic! Thanks "Sid" for a great meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This is hot! But I loved it. Husband said it was great. Added fresh onion, garlic, ginger, broccoli, and carrots. Served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Again, thanks for all the great suggestions on this! I do have one bone of curious contention... why is it that nearly all the folks who rate this at a "one star" rating pretty much complain that it is 'too spicy' or 'too tangy' or 'too sweet'.. after reading the clear and detailed dish description, then rate it down complaining that it is just as I said it is?? I specifically outlined the tastes so that those who would not be interested in the taste would not bother to make it. Don't rate me down to ground because it doesn't suit your personal tastes. Just don't make the dish to begin with. This is a first-rate recipe!! And thanks again to all you who continue to lend input and suggestions! Only makes the recipe better suited to a wider group of folks!! Bon Appetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
oh my goodness, i thought i was a person who loved hot food until i tasted this.. if you can not go out and get suicide wings and eat them no problem do not add all the red pepper flakes.. you will want to cut it back a bit... i loved the flavor though.. i will make it again.. i just will use about half the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Excellent spicy dish! Super easy to prepare, had almost all the basic ingredients already at home, just had to pick up fresh veggies. I added broccoli and white onion slices too. Highly recommend this! All the dinner guests said it tasted like restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Excellent tasting & easy to make; but be forewarned that it IS spicy (Thai-food-spicy, not jalapeno-spicy). I was able to eat & enjoy it, but I paid for it all the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I used rice vinegar just because I had it; doubt it would make any noticeable difference. I used fresh garlic, fresh ginger and chopped up some fresh onion as well as the powdered garlic, onion, ginger, and green onions. I used Sugar Twin rather than sugar (1/8 c and it was sweet enough). Also added fresh broccoli and snow peapods. Next time I would reduce the amount of vinegar a bit (1 c from 1.5 c) and also the soy sauce (1/4 c from 1/2 c) as it was too salty (or try low sodium soy sauce). It was a pretty good stir-fry, but just too salty for my tastes. My friend also made it and used low-sodium soy sauce and said it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States