Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This wasn't just vicious, it was vicilicious!! I love hot spicy food and this was right up my alley and I love the sweetness added to the hot. I served with potatoes, but I think it needed rice with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Yummy! DO NOT BE FOOLED!!!! While making it, it may burn the hairs in your nostrils with it's vinegar scent, but stick it out. Also, mine looked nothing like the picture. So don't let the sight or smell of it fool you. Just taste it and you'll be convinced. Very spicy, but absolutely delicious! I added a little more water to get more sauce for my rice, but otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Unless you like drinking white vinegar straight up, this is not for you. I added so much sugar to cover up the pungent vinegar taste but even when the vinegar taste is covered up by sweetness, your nose takes an assault every time you inhale. Thank goodness I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
We were split on this. It is good but I didn't think it was all that "vicious". My wife and daughter said it was almost too hot for them. Great flavor though. Served it over brown rice and with ginger soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was great! I made some adjustments to suit our tastes as suggested, and it came out perfectly. I followed the advice of another reviewer and marinated the chicken in corn starch, soy sauce and white wine before cooking so it would be tender. Like Chinese Sweet and Sour Chicken with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aldie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I followed the directions exactly and it came out so good even my chef boyfriend was impressed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was a gret dish, a little time consuming, but the flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
very yummy and spicy. i used a couple tsp fresh ginger and 7 cloves fresh garlic when making this, and maybe a 1/4 tbsp more red pepper. also used splenda instead of sugar. starts quite sweet but gets quite hot! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very good - I thought it lived up to its name! I used fresh ginger and garlic and substituted broccoli for the peas and mushrooms. My husband loved it. "George likes his chicken spicy..." :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Chicken Vicious was okay, but I thought it was sweet and tart to the point of excess. The heat from the chili pepper was almost to the extreme as well. I also thought the mushroom's flavor clashed with the other flavors within the dish. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of substituting half of the sugar with Splenda. Less sauce might improve this dish, as the amount in the recipe is far more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States