Chicken Vicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I used rice vinegar just because I had it; doubt it would make any noticeable difference. I used fresh garlic, fresh ginger and chopped up some fresh onion as well as the powdered garlic, onion, ginger, and green onions. I used Sugar Twin rather than sugar (1/8 c and it was sweet enough). Also added fresh broccoli and snow peapods. Next time I would reduce the amount of vinegar a bit (1 c from 1.5 c) and also the soy sauce (1/4 c from 1/2 c) as it was too salty (or try low sodium soy sauce). It was a pretty good stir-fry, but just too salty for my tastes. My friend also made it and used low-sodium soy sauce and said it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any white vinegar on hand so I only used 1/2 cup of apple vinegar. I added onions, mushrooms,peas,green peppers, green beans, and chili peppers. Next time I won't add as many chili peppers as it was HOT! I will also add red instead of green peppers next time. Thanks for a terrific recipe! A definite keeper! 10/27/07 I made this the other night for some friends -- this is only my second time making it. It was delicious -- again!!! I added bean sprouts and pea pods to it. It tasted to vinegarry so I added some more sugar and ouila! I think I'll add more chicken next time. We seemed to have ate most of it with dinner and I didn't have any for leftovoers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
My hubby thinks this is the best, said it tastes just like the hunan that he gets at our favorite chinese resturant. Brought some into work and his co-workers are always watching now to see what he brings in. I used reg fresh mushrooms.A #1 recipe with lots of other applications potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
awesome!!! i make it often and my husband loves it! the taste is strong but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO this recipe is strong, definately not our tastes, but it is good for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe is so good. I don't even like going to our favorite chinese restaurant anymore because this is far better than anything I've ordered there. I do everything in this recipe to a tee, but I use Splenda instead of sugar, and broccoli instead of peas. It's my favorite, and I have made it several times. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
My husband loved this! I did have to adjust the vinegar/sugar to taste (more sugar). I didn't add the green onions. Definitely serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Great recipe, made it just a little while ago for dinner, husband loved it. I used 1 small fresh onion, finely chopped in the food processor and 1 tbsp garlic paste instead and added those to the skillet with the chicken, and I also added some salt although the recipe doesnt call for any. Quick and easy dish, would recommend it to anyone who likes to try out different flavours. I'll be making this one again. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Wow! My husband summed it up with "This is a company meal!" I've tried dozens of stir-fries and found some that were so-so, but none really grabbed me. This one did! I subbed beef for the chicken, added chopped extra firm tofu, and used broccoli and carrots instead of the peas and green onions. It was amazingly delicious!! My husband said "Keep this recipe handy". I plan to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. I modified it. We are on a diet so I used 3/4 cup Splenda instead of sugar and just used Pam instead of oil. I did not add peas mushrooms and did not thicken. We put the chicken on top of green salad and used the sauce as a hot spicy vinagrette dressing. It was awesome. As another reviewer stated,it does taste a lot like General Tso's without breading. Will use time and time again. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States