Chicken Vesuvio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Definitely edible, but definitely something I wouldn't add to the rotation. Was looking for a 'cupboard' recipe, and it worked. fiance ate it. but he likes his potatoes mushy, and they certainly weren't. removed the chicken and cooked 40 minutes longer. (and i cut them into 1/2 inch pieces) Tasted ok, added extra garlic, but still seemed like it was lacking something. Even used an italian seasoning instead of straight rosemary. might use this as a base for something better, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good, added white wine, need to play with and could be perfect! maybe try cream of chicken with herbs to make a light lemony cream sauce. maybe crock pot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Sorry, its too lemony and very bland looking. recipe is not clear . should I put it back in the oven uncovered when I add the olives and mushrooms?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
WAY to lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was lacking all around. Edible, but not great. The potatoes took over an hour to cook, even though I sliced them pretty thin. Also, the chicken was a bit dry and bland. With all the other good chicken recipes out there, I don't even think this one is worth trying to jazz up or "fix." It was certainly edible, but not great for sure. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Nice change of pace for chicken! I had baby new potatoes, so I didn't cut them and added them after 20 minutes, but after another 20 min the larger ones weren't quite done. I'm not a huge rosemary fan, but it didn't seem to over power the dish at all (I used 2 large tsp of fresh). I didn't have green onions, so I used fresh chives instead. Chicken was juicy and tender, my 2 yr old ate it up, as did all the adults! Omitted the olives as we are not an olive family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
It was edible, but no one from age 3 to 14 enjoyed it, nor did my husband. The potatoes ended up tasting like lemony, boiled potatoes. It was a moist breast, but definitely boring. I served with Normandy Vegetables & those ended up getting eaten up, instead of the Vesuvio. Great name, bland recipe. Sorry ISYBEL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Maybe we did something wrong, but overall we found this one to be pretty bland. I've never made this dish or any version of it before, so I don't have anything to compare it to. It was just all right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I used a cut up chicken and quadrupled the marinade. I put chicken and marinade in a bag and put in fridge for 4 hours without potatoes. Did potatoes right before popping into a 300' oven for 4 hours covered with parchment and foil. It came out moist, very flavorable. Everyone just loved it! I also used dried rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States