Chicken Veronica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this recipe last weekend and it was very good. I had to use a lot more chicken stock that it called for though. It simmered down to very little liquid - perhaps simmer on lower heat? I ended up using one and half cup and still felt like it could have used a bit more sauce. It was very tasty though and I suspect I will make this again. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe is outstanding! I loved it. I made it with stone ground spagetti noodles to give it a nutty flavor. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I am the veronica in chicken veronica. While I love this dish with chicken, Chris also makes it for me with shrimp, scallops & lobster. It is awesome.. and one of the mant reasons I love him so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chip69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Husband's verdict: 'Tasty, but the little dried tomato things are a bit weird'! This was almost a complete disaster - I used Japanese cooking sherry for the first time ever, and had no idea it was SO salty (worse than sea water!). I ended up having to dilute and simmer the sauce with a ton of milk. The brie didn't help matters much either. Still, I managed to salvage it, and Husband didn't go hungry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Delicious! My husband loved the sauce and wants me to put it over buttered noodles next time. Caution! This is not a low-fat recipe but you could cut down on some of the fat by using less olive oil to brown the chicken. (Big help, I know!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I used prosciutto instead of pancetta because I read the recipe incorrectly, but it came out great. I agree that if you are eating this over a large amount of pasta, you need more sauce, but if you're just eating it with a single serving of pasta (ie, a normal person size serving instead of an insane restaurant size serving) you'll be fine. I recommend cutting up the sun-dried tomatoes -- mine were rather tough, though they did make it look very pretty. If you want to cut down on the fat content, don't saute the chicken, just poach or bake it, then cut it up. You won't miss out on any flavor because the sauce is so rich anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
half the chicken--double the sauce!!! the sauce was very tasty but as written reduces all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had increase this recipe to have enough, even thgough the helpings were a good size. Every one loved it!!! When I took it to church, I was really glad I had increased the recipe!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was pretty good, but I think I was expecting more out of it. The flour definately needs to be seasoned, the chicken was pretty bland the way this is written. I increased the sauce based on other reviews so that we could eat it over pasta. I also used regular bacon instead of the pancetta, and added some sliced mushrooms. I gave the sundried tomatoes a spin in the food processor before adding them so they weren't as chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This dish was ok. A little too rich for me. My son (who is almost 17) wasn't terribly impressed with it, he said, "it's ok" I served it over a multigrain pasta, and I think I would have prefered a regular angel hair, but that was my error. I think I would replace the cooking sherry I used with a better sherry, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States