Chicken Veronica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My entire family liked this -- but made these changes: Used 1/2 sm can of drained tomatoes instead of dried. Ommitted egg yolk. Added Penzey's Northwoods seasoning & capers. Flavor was delicious! Seraved over thin whole wheat spaghetti. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good dish! I replaced the pancetta bacon with crumbled bacon from Costco. I would suggest to cut down on the amount of garlic; keep in mind, this suggestion comes from a garlic lover. I added a tiny bit more of sherry wine for maximum effect! I served this dish as is without adding it on top of rice or pasta. Other than that, the recipe is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I liked this a lot. I doubled the amount of sauce and we had plent of it. I also used regular bacon rather than panchetta for more flavor. I'll make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This dish was ok. A little too rich for me. My son (who is almost 17) wasn't terribly impressed with it, he said, "it's ok" I served it over a multigrain pasta, and I think I would have prefered a regular angel hair, but that was my error. I think I would replace the cooking sherry I used with a better sherry, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was pretty good, but I think I was expecting more out of it. The flour definately needs to be seasoned, the chicken was pretty bland the way this is written. I increased the sauce based on other reviews so that we could eat it over pasta. I also used regular bacon instead of the pancetta, and added some sliced mushrooms. I gave the sundried tomatoes a spin in the food processor before adding them so they weren't as chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had increase this recipe to have enough, even thgough the helpings were a good size. Every one loved it!!! When I took it to church, I was really glad I had increased the recipe!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
half the chicken--double the sauce!!! the sauce was very tasty but as written reduces all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I used prosciutto instead of pancetta because I read the recipe incorrectly, but it came out great. I agree that if you are eating this over a large amount of pasta, you need more sauce, but if you're just eating it with a single serving of pasta (ie, a normal person size serving instead of an insane restaurant size serving) you'll be fine. I recommend cutting up the sun-dried tomatoes -- mine were rather tough, though they did make it look very pretty. If you want to cut down on the fat content, don't saute the chicken, just poach or bake it, then cut it up. You won't miss out on any flavor because the sauce is so rich anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Delicious! My husband loved the sauce and wants me to put it over buttered noodles next time. Caution! This is not a low-fat recipe but you could cut down on some of the fat by using less olive oil to brown the chicken. (Big help, I know!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Husband's verdict: 'Tasty, but the little dried tomato things are a bit weird'! This was almost a complete disaster - I used Japanese cooking sherry for the first time ever, and had no idea it was SO salty (worse than sea water!). I ended up having to dilute and simmer the sauce with a ton of milk. The brie didn't help matters much either. Still, I managed to salvage it, and Husband didn't go hungry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States