Chicken Veronica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
The flavors in this are really good - but more time consuming than it needs to be and the sauce is way too thick. Next time I won't flour the chicken, I don't think it adds anything and tends to dry it. I used red onion instead of shallot and bacon instead of pancetta. Garnished with sundried tomato (since we have one in the family that hates it), parsley, and red onion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My entire family liked this -- but made these changes: Used 1/2 sm can of drained tomatoes instead of dried. Ommitted egg yolk. Added Penzey's Northwoods seasoning & capers. Flavor was delicious! Seraved over thin whole wheat spaghetti. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good dish! I replaced the pancetta bacon with crumbled bacon from Costco. I would suggest to cut down on the amount of garlic; keep in mind, this suggestion comes from a garlic lover. I added a tiny bit more of sherry wine for maximum effect! I served this dish as is without adding it on top of rice or pasta. Other than that, the recipe is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I liked this a lot. I doubled the amount of sauce and we had plent of it. I also used regular bacon rather than panchetta for more flavor. I'll make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This dish was ok. A little too rich for me. My son (who is almost 17) wasn't terribly impressed with it, he said, "it's ok" I served it over a multigrain pasta, and I think I would have prefered a regular angel hair, but that was my error. I think I would replace the cooking sherry I used with a better sherry, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was pretty good, but I think I was expecting more out of it. The flour definately needs to be seasoned, the chicken was pretty bland the way this is written. I increased the sauce based on other reviews so that we could eat it over pasta. I also used regular bacon instead of the pancetta, and added some sliced mushrooms. I gave the sundried tomatoes a spin in the food processor before adding them so they weren't as chunky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had increase this recipe to have enough, even thgough the helpings were a good size. Every one loved it!!! When I took it to church, I was really glad I had increased the recipe!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
half the chicken--double the sauce!!! the sauce was very tasty but as written reduces all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I used prosciutto instead of pancetta because I read the recipe incorrectly, but it came out great. I agree that if you are eating this over a large amount of pasta, you need more sauce, but if you're just eating it with a single serving of pasta (ie, a normal person size serving instead of an insane restaurant size serving) you'll be fine. I recommend cutting up the sun-dried tomatoes -- mine were rather tough, though they did make it look very pretty. If you want to cut down on the fat content, don't saute the chicken, just poach or bake it, then cut it up. You won't miss out on any flavor because the sauce is so rich anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Delicious! My husband loved the sauce and wants me to put it over buttered noodles next time. Caution! This is not a low-fat recipe but you could cut down on some of the fat by using less olive oil to brown the chicken. (Big help, I know!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States