Chicken Veggie Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This recipe is a perfect starter for those looking for simple AND tasty good health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this soup tonight after doing an ingredient search for chicken, cauliflower, and spinach. So glad I did! Everyone gobbled it up, and my hubby wants to take the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great base to my recipe! I never follow recipe exactly, but I was looking for ideas for extra veggies to put in a soup. I used all but the tomatoes, just wasn't in the mood... AND i added Bok Choy. Was delicious!! Skipped the hot pepper sauce, added a bay leaf... and used fresh, free range chicken (whole chicken, leftovers from day before.) All in all a great, hearty soup! I doubled it all at least. I don't really measure, just throw it in till it looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
yum!! this soup is sooo wonderful! my only problem was that i sort of measured the amount of chicken, but did not measure the veggies at all, and i'm always far too generous with the veggies--my soup ended up being a vegetable soup with just a few random pieces of chicken floating around, but it was still incredibly good. i used all the veggies listed, plus added a bit of zucchini. i used waaaay more spinach though, because it cooks down so much, and it ended up being my favorite part. instead of fresh tomatoes, i used 1 can that was pre-seasoned with basil and oregano, then i added freshly ground pepper (red & black), oregano, and some italian seasoning to the soup. i wanted to make a baguette or focaccia to serve with this, but didn't have time, so to make this heartier, i cooked about 1/2 cup (dry) of brown rice and added it with the spinach at the end. i can't wait to finish off those leftovers-- and then make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I subbed more broccoli for cauliflower and I didn't use carrots. The broccoli turned a little yellow after cooking, so I might add them in a little later next time. I also added a tsp of dried thyme and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of dried parsley and orzo. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious and when i want vegetable soup no meat this is what I would cook I added 2 more cups of fat free broth because I like broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe, though I admit I didn't follow it to the letter. I used a whole chicken cut up(not boneless/skinless), then deboned and deskinned my chicken and used the broth from that to prepare the soup. I used more vegetables, pretty much doubled the amount in the recipe, and did not use hot sauce because my tots would not go for it, and this soup was a HIT! It was very, very hearty and very tasty. Served over rice or noodles it is perfect for small children who in our home generally don't like soup. Defintely a keeper and we'll have this again and again. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Also great as crock pot soup! I did not cut or saute the chicken first because I like to throw it in and be done! I put in three whole boneless skinless chicken breast on the bottom, sprinkled with my favorite spices, mixed pepper and a little red pepper flakes, basil, then topped with everything except the broccoli, cauliflower and spinach. I let it slow cook for 5 hours, then removed the chicken which fell apart on its own to cut into bite size peices, which could be done with a fork, then threw the chicken back in with the brocc, cauli, and three times more spinach since I love it and let it cook for another hour or so. I'm keeping this one in the archives. Thanks for the great idea. Oh yeah, I also only used one can of chicken broth instead of the 4 cups because that's all I needed to make enough broth to cover my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent! I used cabbage and lots of garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was very, very good. I did not have cauliflower, but it was just fine without it. I added alot of veggies and a little more chicken broth. I also added a little italian seasoning, plus oregano and basil. I only put in 4 drops of the hot sauce. I used tomatoes from my garden, but did not peel them, I just cut them up. I used two boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States