Chicken Veggie Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Also great as crock pot soup! I did not cut or saute the chicken first because I like to throw it in and be done! I put in three whole boneless skinless chicken breast on the bottom, sprinkled with my favorite spices, mixed pepper and a little red pepper flakes, basil, then topped with everything except the broccoli, cauliflower and spinach. I let it slow cook for 5 hours, then removed the chicken which fell apart on its own to cut into bite size peices, which could be done with a fork, then threw the chicken back in with the brocc, cauli, and three times more spinach since I love it and let it cook for another hour or so. I'm keeping this one in the archives. Thanks for the great idea. Oh yeah, I also only used one can of chicken broth instead of the 4 cups because that's all I needed to make enough broth to cover my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
yum!! this soup is sooo wonderful! my only problem was that i sort of measured the amount of chicken, but did not measure the veggies at all, and i'm always far too generous with the veggies--my soup ended up being a vegetable soup with just a few random pieces of chicken floating around, but it was still incredibly good. i used all the veggies listed, plus added a bit of zucchini. i used waaaay more spinach though, because it cooks down so much, and it ended up being my favorite part. instead of fresh tomatoes, i used 1 can that was pre-seasoned with basil and oregano, then i added freshly ground pepper (red & black), oregano, and some italian seasoning to the soup. i wanted to make a baguette or focaccia to serve with this, but didn't have time, so to make this heartier, i cooked about 1/2 cup (dry) of brown rice and added it with the spinach at the end. i can't wait to finish off those leftovers-- and then make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe, though I admit I didn't follow it to the letter. I used a whole chicken cut up(not boneless/skinless), then deboned and deskinned my chicken and used the broth from that to prepare the soup. I used more vegetables, pretty much doubled the amount in the recipe, and did not use hot sauce because my tots would not go for it, and this soup was a HIT! It was very, very hearty and very tasty. Served over rice or noodles it is perfect for small children who in our home generally don't like soup. Defintely a keeper and we'll have this again and again. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I enjoyed this soup a lot. I did add cream of chicken, because I like my soup thicker. I also used kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this soup tonight after doing an ingredient search for chicken, cauliflower, and spinach. So glad I did! Everyone gobbled it up, and my hubby wants to take the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent! I used cabbage and lots of garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great base to my recipe! I never follow recipe exactly, but I was looking for ideas for extra veggies to put in a soup. I used all but the tomatoes, just wasn't in the mood... AND i added Bok Choy. Was delicious!! Skipped the hot pepper sauce, added a bay leaf... and used fresh, free range chicken (whole chicken, leftovers from day before.) All in all a great, hearty soup! I doubled it all at least. I don't really measure, just throw it in till it looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was great- all 3 of my kids (ranging from a 2 year old to a 15 year old) loved the soup. Even my neighbor's kid complimented me on it. I tweaked the veggies based on what I had on hand (green beans, diced tomatoes, carrots celery), but everyone was pleased and we will definitely use this recipe again- thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Medina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, because it is a good, easy, forgiving, versatile, recipe, and I'll make it again. It doesn't get 5 stars (is soup ever really 5 stars? It's soup...), only because I didn't find it knock-yer-socks-off, it's just a good solid recipe. I didn't have cauliflower, so to make up bulk, I added some whole wheat rotini pasta. Used diced tomatoes instead of whole, a little extra broth because I tend to measure veggies with a heavy hand, and frozen spinach because that's all I had. Added some marjoram, oregano, parsley, and a few extra drop of hot sauce. Was going to make whole wheat dinner rolls but my yeast must have been bad or something. Made packaged garlic crescents instead. Next time, GOTTA have the rolls....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I subbed more broccoli for cauliflower and I didn't use carrots. The broccoli turned a little yellow after cooking, so I might add them in a little later next time. I also added a tsp of dried thyme and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of dried parsley and orzo. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States