Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
Very tasty and hearty. I added a few dumplings since I adore them. A great wintertime comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
My husband claimed this was the nicest thing I've ever made! It was really yummy-I normally don't eat vegetables-but I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Although this was very easy to prepare we found it to be quite bland even with extra spices. If I was to make this again I would certainly have to "doctor" it up to make it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I just made this recipe today and I have to say it was very easy. I've been wanting to make stew for quite sometime, except I do not eat beef. This is a pleasant change from traditional stew. Although I did have to add some spice to make it flavorful, along with some fresh garlic and zucchini. There also wasn't an abundance of sauce, so I added some extra water. All and all it's a pretty comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This stew was fantastic! The only change I made was the addition of a 1/2c of chicken broth, and a can of corn towards the end of cooking. I thought it was an aweful lot of potatoes, but they really helped thicken the liquid and make it hearty. I think the turmeric made all the difference. I was really iffy about how it would taste but oh it was wonderful! I will make this all the time. So easy and flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Pretty bland. Perhaps it needed the salt that I omitted. Had hoped the tumeric and fresh garlic would overcome the need for salt. But they failed to enliven flavor of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I am sorry but this was just a basic chicken stew. Good in all rights but no pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We actually really liked this, I did tweek a bit by starting with Olive Oil and minced fresh garlic in Dutch oven then added the cubed chicken and I used about 1 tblsp. of the turmeric. I also added the garlic powder, some salt and pepper at this point. Cooked til chicken was almost to the point of browning then added potatoes, carrots, onion, 3tblsp. of tomato paste in 1 cup of chicken broth and added some more salt and pepper at this point due to the high volume of potatoes. I cooked on Med. low for maybe 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, then added 1/2 cup of frozen peas for color and used 1/2 cup of cold water to blend in about 2tblsp. of flour to thicken the stew. I also added a 1/2 tsp. of kitchen bouquet. Served with fresh baguette and it was perfect. Thank you so much for this recipe. This was the first time I have ever had chicken stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a good meal, easy to fix and very good. I added a few things, some squash and some veggies that were left over from another meal. I'll probably make this a lot this winter, I love that chicken is making stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was fine but not great once I doctored it up a bit. I did what someone else suggested and added more water and some flour to make it more like a stew. I also added a can of chicken broth. I used all the spices recommended, plus some extra turmeric, garlic powder, and a bit of Lawry's seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States